



You Decide, Kentucky! A path to reach our full potential

Goals of local revenue reform

Empowered local communities

- Reliable budgets & core services
- Community-centered future investments

Flexibility to respond to economic shifts

- Local impacts of state tax reform measures
- Less reliance on unpredictable revenue options

Competitive taxing structures

- Attractive to workers, businesses, and entrepreneurs
- Simple compliance that is standardized, clear, and fair



About You Decide, Kentucky!

Mission Statement

Established in 2020, You Decide, Kentucky!, a 501(c)3 organization, is the statewide initiative focused on engaging, educating, and galvanizing people and organizations across the Commonwealth to achieve a **shared goal**:

Empowering citizens and local governments to decide what revenue streams will improve the quality of life in their communities.

Vision Statement

You Decide, Kentucky! is a coalition rooted in the belief that that giving Kentuckians the freedom and tools to create new local opportunities for investment leads to more competitive communities, economic innovation, and a better quality of life.



Pathway to success

- √ Focused fundraising
- √ Daily coordination
- ✓ Referendum strategy
- √ Educational campaign
 - Phase 1: launch & proof of concept
 - Phase 2: grasstops & community influencers
 - Phase 3: grassroots & voters
- √ Research & marketing
 - Message testing



Nationwide examples

Students Matter

Defending students' rights through impact litigation

California

Various amendments



Nebraska

Various taxation amendments



Oklahoma

Alcohol sales



PAGE

Minnesota

Education

Washington

Transportation



Colorado

Sports betting



Michigan

Education credits (yes/no)

The team behind You Decide, Kentucky!

At 28 directors and growing, we represent all of Kentucky.

Co-Chair Carter M. Hendricks, Southwestern Kentucky Economic Development Council - Hopkinsville Co-Chair Mayor Suzie Razmus - Corbin Neville Blakemore, LCA, Inc. - Louisville Candance Brake, Owensboro Chamber of Commerce - Owensboro Stephen Brunson, RainStar Capital Group - Fort Wright J.D. Chaney, Kentucky League of Cities - Richmond Jeana Dunlap, urbanist & strategic advisor - Louisville Joe Fowler, United Way of Central Kentucky - Elizabethtown Jennifer Hancock, Volunteers of America Mid-States - Louisville Dexter Horne, Council of State Governments - Louisville Patrick Hughes, DBL Law - Covington Andi Johnson, Commerce Lexington, Inc. - Lexington Mayor Scott Madon - Pineville Tess McNair, The C E & S Foundation - Louisville

Kevin Middleton, United Way of Kentucky - Louisville Chris Nolan, MML&K Government Solutions - Louisville Kristi Putnam, Arkansas Dep. of Human Services - Morehead Marcus Ray, NAACP of Kentucky - Elizabethtown Jenny Recktenwald, C2 Strategic Communications - Louisville Brad Smith, MCM CPAs & Advisors - Louisville Shelby Somervell, Greater Louisville, Inc. - Louisville Mayor Les Stapleton - Prestonsburg Eric Stout, U.S. Department of Agriculture - Louisville Wes Sydnor, Metropolitan Sewer District - Louisville Mayor Tom Watson - Owensboro Theresa Reno-Weber, GoodMaps, Inc - Louisville Judge Jack Whitfield, Hopkins County - Madisonville Mary Ellen Wiederwohl, Accelerator for America – Louisville

The team behind You Decide, Kentucky!

Below is a list of entities who have endorsed YDK!, as well as our financial supporters*.

All former & current board members from May 2021 to present*

The Bramco Foundation*

Christian County Chamber of Commerce

City of Corbin*

City of Hopkinsville*

City of Owensboro*

Commerce Lexington Inc*

David Jones, Jr. & Mary Gwen Wheeler*

Dentons Bingham Greenebaum LLP*

The Elizabethtown-Hardin County Industrial Foundation

Hardin County Chamber of Commerce

The Honorable Greg Fischer*

Greater Louisville, Inc.*

Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce*

The Kentucky Association of Counties

The Kentucky League of Cities*

Lake Barkley Partnership

Louisville Downtown Partnership*

J. McCauley Brown*

Metro United Way

Mike & Deana Paradis*

Paducah Area Chamber of Commerce

The Sociable Weaver Foundation*

Somserset-Pulaski Economic Development Authority

The Southern Kentucky Economic Development Agency

United Way of Kentucky

The West Kentucky Regional Chamber Alliance



Contact Us

Lena Muldoon – Executive Director Lena@YouDecideKy.org (502) 436–4290

Carter Hendricks – Co–Chair chendricks@southwesternky.com (270) 348–6226

Mayor Suzie Razmus – Co-Chair suzie.razmus@corbin-ky.gov (606) 521-9222

www.youdecideky.org @YouDecideKentucky



