

Kentucky Boater Safety

Changes in the Law

Boating activity across the US rose significantly during the Covid-19 Pandemic.

- Fatality rates rose by 25% in registered recreational vessels in 2020 compared to 2019 and accidents rose by 26%.
- Kentucky had 9 of the 767 deaths and 29 of 3191 injuries in 2020

77% of recreational boating fatalities occurred on vessels where the operator did NOT receive boating safety instruction.

(Recreational Boating Statistics 2020)

Current Kentucky Law requires a Safe Boating Certification for children ages 12-17 years old

Age of Operator	Deaths (767)	Injuries (3191)
12-18	23 (2.9%)	307 (9.6%)
19-25	76 (9.9%)	440 (13.7%)
26-35	129 (16.8%)	542 (16.9%)
36-55	243 (31.7%)	502 (15.7%)
Over 55	252 (32.8%)	502 (15.7%)
Unknown	21	125
No Operator	23	79

What about Experience Level?



What are other states doing?

- Kentucky would be the first landlocked state to require a boater education course for ALL boaters.
- Currently 7 states touching coastal waters require ALL boaters to know the laws and take an approved boater education course!
- States are raising the age/birthdate of mandatory boater education courses to eventually include all boaters for future generations.
 - 15 states use ages somewhere between 32-49 and younger with the plan to eventually include all boaters.
 - Ohio is 39 and younger, Tennessee is 32 and younger and WV is 35 and younger.

FUN FACT!

Kentucky has more miles of running water than any other state except Alaska!

https://library.louisville.edu/ekstro m/gov_states/kyfacts

Requirements by State

ALABAMA	Anyone over the age of 12 who operates a vessel on state waters
CALIFORNIA	All boaters 40 yrs of age or younger. ALL boaters regardless of age by 2025.
CONNECTICUT	All boaters wishing to boat more than 60 days a year
DELAWARE	Any person born on or after 1978. (currently age 43, all boaters moving forward).
FLORIDA	Any person born after 1988 (aged 33) operating a vessel with 10 hp or greater
MARYLAND	Anyone born after July 1, 1972 (aged 49)
MISSISSIPPI	Anyone born after June 30, 1980 (aged 41)
NEW HAMPSHIIRE	Anyone 16 years of age or older operating a vessel over 25 hp.
NEW JERSEY	Everyone operating a vessel.
NEW YORK	Must be 14 and complete an 8 hr course to operate a PWC. Motorboat operation requires a course only if born after 1989 (age 32)
TENNESSEE	Any TN resident born after January 1, 1989 (age 32)
VIRGINIA	All PWC operators age 14 and over and ALL operators of motorboats with 10 hp or greater
WASHINGTON	All operators born after 1955 (aged 66) operating a vessel of 15 hp or greater

IT'S TIME FOR A CHANGE, KENTUCKY!

ALL Kentucky boaters operating a vessel should know the laws of the water regardless of age, experience level or horsepower of vessel.

Boat Safe, Kentucky. Save Lives. Everyone needs to know the rules.

In loving memory of Joseph Lee Reed

12/4/77-6/26/21