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   Legislative Research Commission 

 

From:   Jennifer C. Hays, Committee Staff Administrator 

   Appropriations and Revenue Committee 

   Legislative Research Commission 

 

Date:   June 30, 2022 

 

Subject:  Staff Study 

   Electric Vehicles and Transportation Funding 

 

2022 RS HB 8, Section 56, requires staff of the Legislative Research Commission to gather 

information related to electric vehicles and transportation funding from states and the federal 

government and report that information to the Legislative Research Commission during the 2022 

Interim of the General Assembly.  

 

Monthly reports are due on June 30, 2022, July 30, 2022, August 30, 2022, September 30, 2022, 

October 30, 2022, with a summary of all information gathered submitted no later than December 

1, 2022, for referral to the Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue and the Interim 

Joint Committee on Transportation.  The purpose of this memorandum is to submit the staff 

findings as of June 30, 2022. 

 

The methodology used to research the required state-specific data begins by reviewing similar, but 

dated, work completed by: 

 

1. The staff of the National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL) related to specific 

provisions proposed or enacted by each state on electric vehicles; and 

2. The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) 

related to the transportation funding structure of each state. 
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Each month, the data provided by NCSL and AASHTO will be verified or updated and 

supplemented with additional information found within the state-specific statutes. Not every state 

action may be captured during this research project because some states may be currently 

considering proposals during the 2022 Interim Session of the General Assembly.  However, staff 

will continue to monitor the state tax news mediums and provide updates as additional information 

becomes available.  

 

Throughout the 2022 Interim of the General Assembly, it is anticipated that staff will research and 

report on ten states each month so that information for all 50 states will be completed in detail by 

the October 30, 2022, monthly report. It is anticipated that the summary of all information gathered 

will also include information about federal government regulations and guidance. 

 

This month’s report contains information for the following states: 

 

Alabama  

Hawaii 

Idaho 

Kentucky 

Minnesota 

Missouri 

New Hampshire 

Oregon 

Utah 

Washington 

 

The Appropriations and Revenue Committee staff will be glad to assist with questions related to 

this information or perform additional research related to these states upon your request.
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Alabama 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 HB 2: Rebuild Alabama Act (2019), enacted 

o Imposes an annual license tax and registration fee of $200 on each battery electric 

vehicle and $100 on each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle 

o The first 75% of the fee revenue is intended for state, local, and county governments for 

road and bridge projects and the second 25% for electric vehicle supply equipment 

(EVSE) projects 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.28/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.29/gallon) 

o Alternative fuels  

 Compressed Natural Gas ($0.08/gasoline gallon equivalent) 

 Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.08/diesel gallon equivalent) 

 Vehicle Registration Fees  

o Passenger Vehicle- $23 

o Motorcycle- $7 

o Electric Vehicle- $200 

o Hybrid Electric Vehicle- $100 

 Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight) 

o 0 - 8,000 lbs: $10.70 

o 8,001 – 10,000 lbs: $17.50 

o 10,001 – 12,000 lbs: $52.50 

o 12,001 – 18,000 lbs: $85 

o 18,001 – 26,000 lbs: $117.50 

 Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees1 

o Annual Permit $100 

  

                                                 
1 https://www.dot.state.al.us/business/permits/pdf/PermitFeeSchedule.pdf  

https://www.dot.state.al.us/business/permits/pdf/PermitFeeSchedule.pdf
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Hawaii 
Electric Vehicles  

 Hawaii plans on being 100% fueled by clean energy by 2045 

 

 HB 1174 (2019), failed 

o Proposed a state vehicle miles traveled fee for electric vehicles 

 Would have been levied by the county director of finance based on a 

comparison of the electric vehicle’s current odometer reading with the 

odometer reading of the previous year 

 Miles traveled fee would have been paid at the same time as the county 

registration fee 

 

 HB 552 (2021), enacted 

o Creates clean ground transportation goals for state agencies on a staggered basis, 

achieving a 100% passenger vehicle clean fleet by 12/31/30 

o Beginning 01/01/22 new purchases of light-duty motor vehicles must be zero-emission  

 

 HB 424 (2021), enacted 

o Requires all state and county entities to rent an electric or hybrid vehicle when acting 

on behalf of a state employee in conducting official government business 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.16/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.16/gallon) 

o Alternative fuels ($0.16/gallon) 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees  

o $45 and $7 Highway Beautification Fee 

 State Vehicle Weight Tax2 

o Vehicles up to 4,000 lbs: 1.75 cent/lb 

o Vehicles 4,001 lbs to 7,000 lbs: 2 cents/lb 

o Vehicles 7,001 lbs up to 10,000 lbs: 2.25 cents/lb 

o Vehicles over 10,001 lbs: flat rate of $300 

 Sales Taxes on Rental Vehicles  

o 4% 

 Property Rentals and Leases 

 Fines for Use of a Mobile Electronic Device While Driving  

o fines start at $2973  

 

  

                                                 
2 https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-

information#:~:text=All%20passenger%20vehicles%20are%201.25,are%202.5%20cents%20per%20pound.  
3 https://governor.hawaii.gov/newsroom/dot-news-release-april-is-national-distracted-driving-awareness-month-2/  

https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information#:~:text=All%20passenger%20vehicles%20are%201.25,are%202.5%20cents%20per%20pound
https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-information#:~:text=All%20passenger%20vehicles%20are%201.25,are%202.5%20cents%20per%20pound
https://governor.hawaii.gov/newsroom/dot-news-release-april-is-national-distracted-driving-awareness-month-2/
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Idaho 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 HB 312 (2015), enacted 

o Institutes a fee on electric ($140) and hybrid cars ($75) in order to generate new 

funding for the state’s roads and bridges 

 HB 361 (2021), failed 

o Would have increased electric vehicle fee from $140 to $300  

o Would have given an owner of an electric vehicle the option to pay a per-mile charge of 

2.5 cents per mile driven instead of $300 fee 

o The plug-in hybrid vehicle fee of $75 remains the same 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.32/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.32/gallon) 

o Alternative Fuels ($0.32/gallon) 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees 

o $69 for vehicles 1-2 years old 

o $57 for vehicles 3-6 years old 

o $45 for vehicles 7+ years old 

 Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight) 

o Non-Commercial and Farm Trucks 

 8,001 - 16,000 lbs: $73.00 

 16,001 - 26,000 lbs: $86.08 

 26,001 - 30,000 lbs: $116.68 

 30,001 - 40,000 lbs: $155.08 

 40,001 - 50,000 lbs: $213.28 

 50,001 - 60,000 lbs: $336.88 

o Commercial Trucks and Interstate Buses 

 8,001 - 16,000 lbs: $73.00 

 16,001 - 26,000 lbs: $168.40 

 26,001 - 30,000 lbs: $248.80 

 30,001 - 40,000 lbs: $316.60 

 40,001 - 50,000 lbs: $385.00 

 50,001 - 60,000 lbs: $540.40 

 Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees ($60/permit) 

 Truck Permit Fees (temporary permits, hazardous materials transportation permits)4 

 Special Fees on Hybrid and Electric Vehicles 

o Electric Vehicles- $140/year 

o Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles- $75/year 

 Tolls (available, but not in current use) 

  

                                                 
4 https://trucking.idaho.gov/permits/  

https://trucking.idaho.gov/permits/
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Kentucky 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 HB 8 (2022), enacted  

o Beginning in 2024, electric vehicle power excise tax is $0.03 per kWh excise tax at 

any charging station and an additional $0.03 per kWh surtax on power used to charge 

electric vehicles on state property. The tax rate will be adjusted each year based on 

changes in the National Highway Construction Cost Index 2.0 and funds from the tax 

are to be deposited into the road fund5 

o Electric vehicle ownership fees are $120 for electric vehicles and $60 for electric 

motorcycles or hybrid vehicles. These fees are to be split 50/50 between the road fund 

and the general fund 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.26/gallon; note that $0.014 is the Petroleum Environmental Assurance Fee 

and is not Road Fund moneys) 

o Diesel ($0.23/gallon; note that $0.014 is the Petroleum Environmental Assurance Fee 

and is not Road Fund moneys) 

o Liquefied Petroleum ($0.246/gallon) 

o Alternative Fuels ($0.03 per kWh) 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees  

o $21 registration fee; $9 title fee 

 Motor Vehicle Usage Tax (MVUT) or U-drive-it tax, which is an alternative pay to pay the 

MVUT for certain car rental companies, on Motor Vehicle Sales  

o 6% of retail price 

 Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight) 

 Weight-Distance Taxes  

o $0.0285 per mile for carriers with weight greater than 59,999 lbs6 

 Oversize/Overweight Permit Fees  

o vehicle specific; varies from $80 to $1,500 

 Driver’s License (DL) Fees  

o Standard Credential DL or Motorcycle License $21.50/4 year, $43/8 year 

o Real ID DL or Motorcycle License $24/4 year, $48/8 year 

o Driver/Motorcycle License Combo Standard $26.50/4 year; $53/8 year 

o Driver/Motorcycle License Combo Real ID $29/4 year, $58/8 year 

o Personal ID Standard $11.50/4 year, $23/8 year 

o Personal ID Real ID $14/4 year, $28/8 year 

o Driver’s Permit Standard $15/3 year 

o Drivers Permit Real ID $18/3 year 

                                                 
5 https://www.ncsl.org/Portals/1/Documents/meetings/SALT/DShinkle-SALT-Transportation-Funding-Trends.pdf  

https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/record/22rs/hb8.html  
6 https://drive.ky.gov/motor-

carriers/Pages/KYU.aspx#:~:text=What%20is%20Kentucky%20Weight%20Distance,is%20%240.0285%20cents%

20per%20mile.  

https://www.ncsl.org/Portals/1/Documents/meetings/SALT/DShinkle-SALT-Transportation-Funding-Trends.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/record/22rs/hb8.html
https://drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/KYU.aspx#:~:text=What%20is%20Kentucky%20Weight%20Distance,is%20%240.0285%20cents%20per%20mile
https://drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/KYU.aspx#:~:text=What%20is%20Kentucky%20Weight%20Distance,is%20%240.0285%20cents%20per%20mile
https://drive.ky.gov/motor-carriers/Pages/KYU.aspx#:~:text=What%20is%20Kentucky%20Weight%20Distance,is%20%240.0285%20cents%20per%20mile


Legislative Research Commission Electric Vehicle and Transportation Funding Staff Report 

6 

o Motorcycle Permit standard $15/1 year 

o Motorcycle Permit Real ID $18/1 year 

 Tolls7  

  

                                                 
7 https://riverlink.com/  

https://riverlink.com/
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Minnesota 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 HF 1146/SF 1122 (2019), failed 

o Would have directed MnDOT to establish a mileage-based user fee (MBUF) program 

 

 HF 523 (2021), failed 

o Proposed that owners of an all-electric vehicle to pay a road usage charge beginning 

July 2022 

 Road usage charge would be calculated based on the miles driven, multiplied 

by the excise tax rate for gasoline, divided by the vehicle’s fuel economy 

o Proposed an implementation fee surcharge that would have been determined annually 

or on a less frequent basis 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.285/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.285/gallon) 

o Alternative Fuels 

 E85 ($0.2025/gallon) 

 pure biodiesel (B100) ($0.285 per gallon) 

 propane ($0.2135 per gallon) 

 liquefied natural gas ($0.171 per gallon) 

 compressed natural gas ($2.50 per thousand cubic feet) 

 Vehicle Registration Taxes 

o $10 annual fee plus 

 For vehicles initially registered in Minnesota prior to 11/16/2020, 1.25% of 

the manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination 

charge 

 For vehicles initially registered in Minnesota on or after 11/16/2020, 1.285% 

of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the vehicle 

 Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight) 

o 0-15,000 lbs: $120 

o 15,001-18,000: $145 

o 18,001-21,000: $190 

o 21,001-26,000: $270 

o 26,001-33,000 $360 

o 33,001-39,000: $475 

o See chart for additional weights8 

 Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees  

o Single Trip: $15 + damage assessment fee9 

 Commercial Vehicle Inspection Fees10 

                                                 
8 https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Documents/2022%20Minnesota%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Tax%20Manual.pdf 
9 https://www.dot.state.mn.us/cvo/oversize/damage-assessment-fees.html 
10 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.781 
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 Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicles  

o 6.5% of the vehicle purchase price 

 Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Leases 

o 6.875%  

 Fees on Rental Vehicles 

o 9.2% rental tax and 5% rental fee11 

 Congestion Pricing/High-Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lanes 

o $0.25-$8.00 

 Traffic Fines12 

  

                                                 
11 https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/guide/rentals-not-subject-motor-vehicle-rental-tax-and-fee 
12 https://www.co.itasca.mn.us/224/Common-Violation-Fine-Amounts 
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Missouri 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 The goal is to transition from taxable horsepower to a vehicle’s combined mpg rating but is 

not meant to replace current fuel taxes and not a per-mile road usage charge 

 According to MoDOT, legislation is required to implement a mpg-based registration fee 

structure. The Missouri General Assembly has considered five pieces of legislation over 

three years that would have implemented the proposed revenue mechanism supported by 

MoDOT. However, none of these bills had been enacted as of October 2020 

 

 HB 2600 (2018), failed 

o Proposed a base vehicle registration fee for all vehicles based on EPA fuel economy 

 Base fee of $29 + additional fee based on combined city/highway MPG 

 Rating of 29 MPG or less would pay no additional fee 

 Rating above 29 MPG up to and including 98 MPG would pay additional fee 

of $3 for each MPG rated above 29 MPG 

 Rating of 99 MPG and above would pay fee of $210 

 Motorcycles would pay additional fee of $8.60 

 Motortricycles would pay additional fee of $10 

 

 HB 500 (2019), failed 

o Would have established a MPG based motor vehicle registration fee 

 Base annual registration fee is $24 for motor vehicles other than commercial 

vehicles 

 Vehicles with a combined city/highway MPG rating of 29 MPG or less would 

pay no additional fee 

 Vehicles with rating greater than 29 MPG up to and including 60 MPG would 

pay $6 for each MPG the vehicle is rated above 29 MPG 

 Vehicles with rating greater than 60 MPG, an amount equal to total fee paid 

by a vehicle with a rating of 60 MPG 

 Motorcycles pay $8.50 

 Motortricycles and autocycles pay fee of $10 

 Motor vehicles that have paid the alternative fuel decal fee required under 

Section 142.869. RSMo, would pay a fee equivalent to the total fee paid by 

motor vehicles with a rating greater than 60 MPG. This fee shall be in 

addition to any fee required under Section 142.869 

 

 SB 201 (2019), failed 

o Proposed that noncommercial vehicles with a combined city/highway rating at less than 

29 MPG shall pay a base fee of $24 

 Vehicles rated at more than 29 MPG but less than 61 MPG would have paid 

an additional fee of $6 per MPG exceeding 29 MPG 

 Vehicles rated at 61 MPG or more would have paid a fee equivalent to fee for 

a vehicle rated at 60 MPG 
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 Vehicles subject to the alternative fuel decal fee would have paid registration 

fees equal to those of vehicles rated at greater than 61 MPG; in addition to the 

fees required for the alternative fuel decal 

 No modification for motorcycles, motortricycles, or autocycles 

 If MPG rating can’t be determined, motor vehicle would have been rated at 29 

MPG or be rated if it is subject to the alternative fuel decal requirement  

 

 HB 2301 (2020), failed 

o Proposed filing of MPG fuel ratings when vehicle is registered. Annual registration fee 

for non-commercial vehicles is determined based on motor vehicle’s combined 

city/highway MPG rating 

 Vehicles with a rating of 19 MPG or less would pay $25 

 Rating greater than 19 MPG, up to and including 29 MPG would pay $32 

 Rating greater than 29 MPG, up to and including 39 MPG would pay $39 

 Rating greater than 39 MPG, up to and including 49 MPG would pay $46 

 Rating greater than 49 MPH, up to and including 59 MPG would pay $53 

 Rating equal to or greater than 60 MPG would pay $75  

 Annual registration fee for plug in electric hybrid vehicle would be $112, and 

for electric vehicles, $125 

 Annual registration fee for motorcycles, motortricycles, and autocycles would 

be $10 

 

 SB 906 (2020), failed 

o Proposed a fee of $25 for vehicles 12,000 pounds and under 

o Registration fees for property carrying local commercial vehicles other than land 

improvement contractors’ vehicles would have been increased to $25 for vehicles 

18,000 and under 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.22 gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.22/gallon) 

o Alternative fuels ($0.11 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE))13 

o Jet fuel ($0.09) 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees (registration fees are determined by the vehicle’s taxable 

horsepower (HP))14 

o Under 12 HP or electric vehicle or low speed vehicle - $18.25/1 yr fee 

o 12 – 23 HP - $21.25/1 yr fee 

o 24 – 35 HP - $24.25/1 yr fee 

o 36 – 47 HP - $33.25/1 yr fee 

o 48 – 59 HP - $39.25/1 yr fee 

o 60 – 71 HP - $45.25 

o 72 HP + - $51.25 

                                                 
13https://afdc.energy.gov/laws/all?state=MO#:~:text=Alternative%20Fuel%20Tax&text=%240.11%20per%20GGE

%20from%20January,1%2C%202025%2C%20and%20beyond.  
14 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees  

https://afdc.energy.gov/laws/all?state=MO#:~:text=Alternative%20Fuel%20Tax&text=%240.11%20per%20GGE%20from%20January,1%2C%202025%2C%20and%20beyond
https://afdc.energy.gov/laws/all?state=MO#:~:text=Alternative%20Fuel%20Tax&text=%240.11%20per%20GGE%20from%20January,1%2C%202025%2C%20and%20beyond
https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees
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 Special Fees on Electric and Some Alternative Fuel Vehicles15 

o Passenger Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas: $90 

o Passenger Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV: $45 

o 18,001 – 36,000 lbs Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas with a farm “F” tab 

on plate: $120 

o 18,001 – 36,000 lbs Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV with a farm “F” tab on plate: 

$60 

o 18,001 – 36,000 lbs Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas without a farm “F” 

tab on plate: $180 

o 18,001 – 36,000 lbs Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV without a farm “F” tab on plate: 

$90 

 Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales and Leases  

o 4.225% of retail price 

 Truck Registration Fees (determined by truck’s weight and whether truck will be used locally 

(50 miles from home) or over a wider area)16 

 Driver’s License Fees:  

 

                                                 
15 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html  
16 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees  

https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html
https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees
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New Hampshire 
Electric Vehicles  

 

 HB 1649 (2020), failed 

o Proposed MPG increment ranges of $10 for vehicles rated 20 MPG or less up to $100 

for vehicles rated over 50 MPG. Non-gasoline vehicles would have been assessed $125 

 

 HB 478 (2019), failed 

o Proposed a road usage fee for motor vehicles that have a MPG of 20 or greater, 

registered to travel on NH roads based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle 

o The road usage fee would have been calculated as $111 minus the estimated road toll 

paid per year based on 10,000 miles of travel for each vehicle.  The base amount of 

$111 based on a 20 MPG vehicle that travels 10,000 miles ($0.222 road toll X 500 

gallons) 

 

 HB 1763 (2018), failed 

o Proposed that the state would create a road usage fee schedule for vehicles rated over 

20 MPG based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle. 

o Road usage fee would have ranged from 0 for vehicles that average less than 20 miles 

per gallon (MPG) up to $111 for vehicles that average 51 MGP or more (including 

gasoline free vehicles) 

 

 HB 621 (2017), failed 

o Proposed road usage fees upon registering a vehicle rated at 22.5 MPG or more based 

on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle. 

o The fee would have been collected at the time of annual registration of the vehicle and 

deposited in a separate restricted road usage account within the highway fund 

 

 HB 1602 (2016), failed 

o Proposed a road usage fee on vehicles with a fuel economy rating over 20 MPG and 

non-gasoline vehicles based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle. 

o The fee would have been collected at the time of annual registration of the vehicle and 

deposited in a separate restricted road usage account within the highway fund 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.222/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.222/gallon) 

o Alternative fuels ($0.222/gallon) 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees17 

o 0-3,000 lbs - $31.20 

o 3,001-5,000 lbs.- $43.20 

o 5,001-8,000 lbs.- $55.20 

o 8,000-73,280 lbs. - $0.96 per hundred lbs. gross weight 

                                                 
17 http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261/261-141.htm  

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261/261-141.htm
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 Truck Registration Fees  

o Up to 73,280 lbs $0.96 per 100 lbs gross weight  

o Over 73,280 lbs $1.44 per each 100 lbs gross weight or portion in excess of 73,280 

 Tolls 

 Rest Area Sponsorship 

 Rest Area Food or Fuel Concessions 
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Utah 
Electric Vehicles  

 The Utah Road Usage Charge Program began 01/01/2020 and allows fully electric vehicles, 

plug-in hybrid vehicles and gasoline hybrid vehicles to enroll in the program 

o As of 1/01/2022 the road usage charge rate is 1.52 cents per mile 

o If a registered owner chooses not to enroll their vehicle in the road usage charge 

program, they are subject to the annual flat fee in SB 136, but road usage charge 

program participants area not charged more in road usage charges annually than a 

vehicle type flat fee 

 

 HB 362 (2015), enacted 

o Directs UDOT to continue researching road usage charges as an alternative to fuel tax 

 

 SB 174 (2017), enacted 

o Creates the Transportation Governance and Funding Task Force and required a report 

on how the state could address statewide funding needs via user charges. 

o Recommendation was to authorize and direct UDOT to begin a road usage charge 

demonstration/pilot program as a potential future alternative to motor fuel 

 

 SB 136 (2018), enacted 

o Requires UDOT to implement a road usage charge demonstration by 01/01/2020 

instead of collecting an annual flat fee for electric vehicles, plug-in electric hybrid 

vehicles and gas hybrid vehicles 

o Requires UDOT to create a road usage charge Advisory Committee to lead the 

development of the road usage charge program 

 

 SB 72 (2019), enacted 

o Reverses 2018 SB 136 that only authorized a demonstration program to allow a 

permanent road usage charge program 

o Directs UDOT to create rules regarding enrollment, withdrawal, and removal, mileage 

reporting, commercial account management (CAM), enforcement, and privacy and data 

sharing 

 

 SB 150 (2020), enacted 

o Requires UDOT to submit a plan to the legislature with potential ways to enroll all 

registered vehicles in the state by 12/31/31 

o Reenacts certain reporting provisions originally approved in 2019 through SB 2001 

 

 SB 82 (2021), enacted 

o Establishes the Road Usage Charge Program Special Revenue Fund within the state 

transportation fund to cover the costs of administering the road usage charge program 

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.319/gallon) 

o Diesel ($0.319/gallon) 
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o Highway Use (variable rate- percentage of price, also to be indexed) 

o Alternative Fuels 

 Vehicle Registration and Title Fees 

o $46 for motorcycle 

o $44 for motor vehicles of 12,000 lbs or less 

o $31 for trailer or semitrailers over 750 lbs gross unladen weight 

o $28.50 for commercial trailers or semitrailers 750 lbs or less gross unladen weight 

o $120 for electric motor vehicles 

o $52 for plug-in hybrid electric motor vehicles 

 Road usage charge in lieu of registration (1.52 cents/mile) 

 Sales Taxes on Rental Vehicles (2.5%) 

 Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight) 

o $53 for farm truck over 12,000 lbs but not exceeding 14,000 lbs gross laden weight 

o $9 for each $2,000 lbs over 14,000 lbs gross laden weight 

 Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees (see chart)18 

 Tolls (range from $0.25 to $2.00) 

 

  

                                                 
18 https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/size-weight-permitting/oversize-overweight-

provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-permit-fee-schedule/  

https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/size-weight-permitting/oversize-overweight-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-permit-fee-schedule/
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/size-weight-permitting/oversize-overweight-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-permit-fee-schedule/
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Washington 
Electric Vehicles  

The Washington State Transportation Commission (WSTC) created a pilot project to test an 

operational road usage charge program using a flat per-mile rate (took state’s average vehicle 

MPG of 20.5 and divided it by state gas tax of 49.4 cents per gallon).The 12-month study 

involved 2,000 participants and concluded that a road usage charge system was feasible and 

could out-produce the gas tax long-term to fund transportation needs. WSTC provided 16 

recommendations on how Washington could manage the transition from a gas tax to a road usage 

charge system. 

 

WSTC is now studying the first four tasks of the Forward Drive project: 

1. Utilizing financial modeling that considers advancements and future adoptions of 

autonomous, connected, electric and shared vehicles as a growing component of roadway 

miles 

2. Conducting an in-depth analysis which will identify and measure potential disparate 

impacts of road usage charges to committees of color, low-income households, 

vulnerable populations and displaced communities 

3. Updating mileage reporting methods such as identifying and testing new technologies, as 

well as enhanced in-person mileage reporting options 

4. Collaborating with other states to explore strategies to reduce the administrative costs of 

collecting road usage charges 

 

 SB 6001 (2014), enacted 

o Makes a biennial $450,000 appropriation in 2014 to develop a work plan and concept 

of operations to move away from gas tax while introducing a road usage charge on a 

portion of vehicles and using the gas tax in the interim as a pre-payment mechanism to 

reduce collection costs and evasion 

 

 SB 6106 (2018), enacted 

o Requires period reporting on the road usage charge pilot to the road usage charge 

steering committee 

 

 HB 1160 (2019), enacted 

o Requires a final report on road usage charge pilot by January 2020, but to continue 

researching impacts of road usage charges on low-income households, vulnerable 

populations, and displaced communities 

 

 SB 5974 (2022), enacted 

o Requires all new buildings to have at least one parking space or 10% of parking spaces 

round to the next whole number be made-ready for Level 2 electric vehicle supply 

equipment 

o By 2023, all public EV charging stations must display all charges and fees  

 

Primary Transportation Funding Sources 

 Fuel Taxes 

o Gasoline ($0.494/gallon) 
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o Diesel ($0.494/gallon) 

o Alternative Fuels 

 Vehicle Registration  

o $43.25 standard fee plus  

 0-4,000 lbs +$25 

 4,001-6,000 lbs + $45 

 6,001-8,000 lbs + $65 

 8,001 lbs and over + $72 

 License Fees19 

o Learner’s Permit- $25/1 year 

o Motorcycle Learner’s Permit- $15/180 days 

o 1st DL- $89/6 years 

o ID Card- $54/6 years or $72/8 years 

o Renew DL- $54/6 years or $72/8 years 

 Vehicle Title Fees 

o $15.50 title transfer fee 

 License Plate Retention Fees ($20)20 

 Special Fees on Electric Vehicles  

o $150 electric vehicle fee 

o $75 electrification fee (for electric and hybrid vehicles)  

 Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales (0.3%) and Rental Vehicles (5.9%) 

 Tolls (see website)21 

 Studded Tire Fees ($5 studded fire fee and $1 tire fee) 

 Congestion Pricing/Variable Tolling/High-Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lanes ($0.50-$9.00 based 

on speed of vehicles in the lane) 

 

 

 

                                                 
19 https://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/fees.html  
20https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200#:~:text=(b)%20A%20license%20plate%20retention,vehi

cle%20is%20exempt%20from%20payment  
21 https://wsdot.wa.gov/travel/roads-bridges/toll-roads-bridges-tunnels/good-go-accounts-passes  

https://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/fees.html
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200#:~:text=(b)%20A%20license%20plate%20retention,vehicle%20is%20exempt%20from%20payment
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200#:~:text=(b)%20A%20license%20plate%20retention,vehicle%20is%20exempt%20from%20payment
https://wsdot.wa.gov/travel/roads-bridges/toll-roads-bridges-tunnels/good-go-accounts-passes

