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2022 RS HB 8, Section 56, requires staff of the Legislative Research Commission to gather
information related to electric vehicles and transportation funding from states and the federal
government and report that information to the Legislative Research Commission during the 2022
Interim of the General Assembly.

On June 30, 2022, the first of the staff study reports was completed. The purpose of this
memorandum is to deliver the second installment of the monthly reports. Future reports will follow
on August 30, 2022, September 30, 2022, October 30, 2022, with a summary of all information
gathered submitted no later than December 1, 2022, for referral to the Interim Joint Committee on
Appropriations and Revenue and the Interim Joint Committee on Transportation.

The first report explained the methodology used to research the required state-specific data,
including data from the staff of the National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL), related to
specific provisions proposed or enacted by each state on electric vehicles, and the American



Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), related to the
transportation funding structure of each state.

Each month, the data provided by NCSL and AASHTO will be verified or updated and
supplemented with additional information found within the state-specific statutes. Not every state
action may be captured during this research project because some states may be currently
considering proposals during the 2022 Interim Session of the General Assembly. However, staff
will continue to monitor the state tax news mediums and provide updates as additional information
becomes available.

Throughout the 2022 Interim of the General Assembly, it is anticipated that staff will research and
report on ten states each month so that information for all 50 states will be completed in detail by
the October 30, 2022, monthly report. The final report dated December 1, 2022, will include
information about federal government regulations and guidance.

This month’s report contains information for the following states, which are included within the
states provided previously in alphabetical order. The state’s name is capitalized within the report
if it was added new this month.

STATES ADDED THIS States Previously
MONTH Provided
ALASKA Alabama

ARIZONA Hawaii
ARKANSAS Idaho
CALIFORNIA Kentucky
COLORADO Minnesota
CONNECTICUT Missouri
DELAWARE New Hampshire
FLORIDA Oregon
GEORGIA Utah
ILLINOIS Washington

A Co-Chair of the Appropriations and Revenue Committee has requested that staff include certain
actual collections related to these topics. Staff continues to evaluate the best methods for including
this type of data. It is anticipated that a future edition of this report will contain the requested data
items for all states researched.

The Appropriations and Revenue Committee staff will be glad to assist with questions related to
this information or perform additional research related to these states upon your request.
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Alabama

Electric Vehicles

e HB 2: Rebuild Alabama Act (2019), enacted
o Imposes an annual license tax and registration fee of $200 on each battery electric
vehicle and $100 on each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle
o The first 75% of the fee revenue is intended for state, local, and county
governments for road and bridge projects and the second 25% for electric vehicle
supply equipment (EVSE) projects

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.28/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.29/gallon)
o Alternative fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.08/gasoline gallon equivalent)
» Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.08/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration Fees
o Passenger Vehicle- $23
o Motorcycle- $7
o Electric Vehicle- $200
o Hybrid Electric Vehicle- $100
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o 0-8,000 pounds: $10.70
o 8,001 —10,000 pounds: $17.50
o 10,001 — 12,000 pounds: $52.50
o 12,001 — 18,000 pounds: $85
o 18,001 —26,000 pounds: $117.50
o Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees'
o Annual Permit $100

! https://www.dot.state.al.us/business/permits/pdf/PermitFeeSchedule.pdf
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ALASKA

Electric Vehicles

e SB 16 (2020), enacted
o Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities must evaluate the cost,
efficiency, and commercial availability of alternative fuels for automotive
purposes every five years, and purchase or convert to vehicles that operate using
alternative fuels whenever practical

e SB 59 (2010), enacted
o Allows low-speed electric vehicles on roads with posted speed limits of 45 MPH
or less

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.08/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.08/gallon)
o Alternative fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.08/gasoline gallon equivalent)
» Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.08/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration Fees
o Passenger vehicle- $100
Taxicab- $160
Motor home- $100
Motor bus with less than 20 seats- $100
Motor bus with 20 or more seats- $300
o Motorcycle- $60
e Industrial Use Highway Permit Fees
e Rental Vehicle Tax
o 8% with maximum tax for passenger cars $120 and $240 for trucks, vans and
motorhomes?
e Tolls®

o O O O

2

https://www.muni.org/Departments/finance/treasury/programtaxes/rentalvehicletax/Pages/default.aspx#:~:text=%E2
%80%8B%E2%80%8B%E2%80%8BRental%20Vehicle,be%20collected%20per%20rental%20transaction.
? https://dot.alaska.gov/creg/whittiertunnel/assets/tolls.pdf
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ARIZONA

Electric Vehicles

e SB 1246 (2022), enacted
o Allows Arizona school districts to evaluate electric vehicle school buses and
charging options if economically advantageous

e SB 1152 (2022), failed
o Would have required Department of Transportation to develop a Zero Emission
Vehicle Plan to increase the number of registered zero emission vehicles in the
state, to establish interstate and intrastate zero emission corridors, and to
coordinate the installation of zero emission vehicle infrastructure

e SB 1154 (2022), failed
o Would have created the transportation electrification study committee to increase
the use of alternative fuels

e SB 1332 (2019), enacted
o The vehicle license tax for an alternative fuel vehicle (AFV) registered in Arizona
is $4 for every $100 in assessed value. The minimum amount of the annual AFV
license tax is $5
= AFVs registered prior to January 1, 2022: 1% of the manufacturer’s
suggested retail price (MSRP)
= AFVs initially registered between January 1, 2022 and December 31,
2022: 20% of the MSRP

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.18/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.26/gallon for a use class motor vehicle on highway; $0.18/gallon for a
light class motor vehicle )
¢ Vehicle Registration Fees, which include:
o $4.50, $8, or $9 registration fee (depending on type of vehicle); plus
o Air quality fee of $1.50; plus
o Air quality compliance fee of $0.25; plus
o Vehicle license tax
® For passenger vehicles, based on assessed value of 60% of the
manufacturer’s base retail price reduced by 16.25% for each year since the
vehicle was first registered in Arizona. Then $2.80 (new vehicles) or $2.89
(used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed value
® For an alternative fuel vehicle (AFV) registered in Arizona is $4 for every
$100 in assessed value. The minimum amount of the annual AFV license
tax is $5
e AFVs registered prior to January 1, 2022: 1% of the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP)



Legislative Research Commission Electric Vehicle and Transportation Funding Staff Report

e AFVsinitially registered between January 1, 2022 and December
31, 2022: 20% of the MSRP
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o up to 8,000 pounds: $7.50
8,001 — 10,000 pounds: $36
10,001 — 12,000 pounds: $63
12,001 — 14,000 pounds: $103
14,001 — 16,000 pounds : $121
16,001 — 18,000 pounds: $144
18,001 — 20,000 pounds: $162
o 20,001 —22,000 pounds: $198
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees
o $150/30 day oversize permit
o $500/30 day oversize and overweight permit
o $750/annual oversize only permit
o $1,500/annual oversize and overweight permit
e Truck Permit Fees (single-trip permits) (special 30 day permits)
o Foral or?2 axle vehicle- $2 for each 50 miles
o For a 3 axle vehicle, $3 for each 50 miles
o For a4 axle vehicle, $4 for each 50 miles
o For a5 axle vehicle
e Transaction Privilege Tax (5%)
e Driver’s License Fees
o Ages 16-39: $25
Ages 40-44: $20
Ages 45-49: $15
Ages 50+: $10
Limited License (military or students): $10

O o0 OO0 0O

O O O O
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ARKANSAS
Electric Vehicles

e SB 225 (2021), enacted
o Creates a $50 annual fee for each hybrid vehicle registered

o SB 632 (2021), enacted
o Creates the Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Grant Program

e SB336(2019), enacted
o Creates an annual fee of $200 for each registered electric vehicle and $100 for
each registered hybrid vehicle

e SB 482 (2019), failed
o Proposed an income tax credit for the purchase of an electric vehicle or a hybrid
vehicle
= $150 for purchase of a new hybrid vehicle
= $300 for purchase of a new electric vehicle

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.245/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.285/gallon)
o Alternative fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.05/gasoline gallon equivalent)
= Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.05/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration Fees
o Passenger Cars 3,000 pounds or less: $17
Passenger Cars 3,001 - 4,500 pounds: $25
Passenger Cars 4,501: $30
Electric Vehicles: $200
Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles: $100
Trucks and Vans Rated 5, %, and 1 ton: $21
Motorcycles 250 CC or more: $7
Motorcycles less than 250 CC: $3
Motorcycle Side Cars: $2
All Terrain Vehicles: $5
Motorized Bicycles: $3
o Mobile/Manufactured Homes: $26
e Truck Related Fees
o Motor carrier registration processing fees ($6.25)
o Temporary license plate fees*
¢ Commercial Driver-Related Fees’

©C 000000 00 o0

* https://www.douglasma.org/places/how-to-get-temporary-tags-online-arkansas/
> https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/driver-services/license-id-and-permits/cdl-classifications

SELUEE 1 et s fie g 6]
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e Short Term Rental Vehicle Tax (10%)
e Severance Taxes on Natural Gas®

6 https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/revenuePolicyLegal Office/et2008 4.pdf
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CALIFORNIA
Electric Vehicles
California Governor Newsom signed an executive order that requires all new cars and passenger
trucks sold in California to be zero-emission vehicles by 2035.

e AB 1082 (2017), enacted
o Authorizes an electric corporation to file a pilot program proposal with the Public
Utilities Commission for the installation of vehicle charging stations at school
facilities and other educational institutions

o SB 676 (2019), enacted
o Requires the Public Utilities Commission to establish strategies and quantifiable
metrics to maximize the use of feasible and cost-effective electric vehicle grid
integration by January 1, 2030

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.539/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.853/gallon)
o Alternative fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.0887/gasoline gallon equivalent)
" Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.1017/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Truck Registration Fee (based on gross vehicle weight)
o Less than 3,000 pounds: $8
3,000 pounds — 4,000 pounds: $24
4,001 pounds — 5,000 pounds: $80
5,001 - 6,000 pounds: $154
6,001 — 7,000 pounds: $204
7,001 — 8,000 pounds: $257
8,001 — 9,000 pounds: $308
o 9,001 —10,000 pounds:$360
e Off-Highway Motor Vehicles Service Fees’
e Tolls®

o O 0 O 0O O

7 hitps://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/vehicle-registration/registration-fees/
8 https://dot.ca.gov/programs/traffic-operations/legal-truck-access/tolls
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COLORADO

Electric Vehicles
Colorado has adopted the Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) standard that requires automakers to sell
more than 5% zero emission vehicles by 2023 and more than 6% zero emission vehicles by 2025

HB 1218 (2022), failed

o Would have required developers of multifamily residential buildings with at least
3 units to set aside 20% of the structure’s parking spaces to double as electric
vehicle charging stations and 50% of the spaces to be wired to, eventually, serve
as charging stations

o Developers of commercial buildings with at least 25,000 square feet of floor
space would have been required to set aside 10% off parking spaces to double as
electric vehicle charging stations and 25% of spaces to be wired to someday serve
as charging stations

HB 1205 (2021), enacted
o Requires a road usage equalization fee to be imposed at the time of annual
registration on each plug-in electric motor vehicle that is required to be registered

in the state

HB 1198 (2019), enacted
o Allows the electric vehicle grant funds to be used to administer grants for the
installation of charging stations for electric vehicles
o Requires the money in the fund to be continuously appropriated to the Colorado
energy office

HB 1107 (2017), enacted
o Imposes an annual fee of $50 at the time of registration on every plug-in electric

motor vehicle

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline (§0.22/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.205/gallon)
o Alternative fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.183 /gasoline gallon equivalent)
= Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.135/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration Fees
o Motorcycles: $3
o Passenger Vehicles up to 2,000 pounds: $6
= $0.20 per extra 100 pounds up to 4,500 pounds
o $12.50 for passenger vehicles 4,500 pounds +
= $0.60 per each additional 100 pounds
AND
o For motor vehicles less than 7 years old: $12
o For motor vehicles 7 years old less than 10 years old: $10

SRR R g
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o For motor vehicles 10 years old or older: $7
e Special Fees on Electric Vehicles
o $50 for plug-in electric vehicle
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)’
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Surcharges!?
o Congestion Pricing/ High-Occupancy Toll (HOT) lanes'!

? https://codes.findlaw.com/co/title-42-vehicles-and-traffic/co-rev-st-sect-42-3-306.html
19 https://www.codot.gov/business/permits/truckpermits/documents/oversize-overweight-permits
11 https://www.codot.gov/programs/expresslanes/get-a-pass
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CONNECTICUT

Electric Vehicles

e SB4(2022), enacted

o Requires the state to convert 50% its purchased fleet of cars and light-duty trucks
to electric models by 2026 and 100% by 2030

o Beginning Jan. 1, 2024, diesel-fueled buses will no longer be approved for
purchase or added to the fleet

= The state plans on 30% of the buses to be zero-emissions by 2030

o Provides $15 million in vouchers to help businesses purchase new zero-emission
vehicles and $20 million in grants for school districts to invest in zero-emission
school buses

o SB 484 (2022), enacted
o Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle
emissions inspections

e HB 7424 (2019), enacted
o Offers a rebate for the incremental cost of the purchase or lease of a hydrogen fuel
cell electric vehicle, all-electric vehicle, or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle

o SB 409 (2019), failed
o Would have permitted the operation of electric vehicles in high-occupancy
vehicle lanes regardless of the number of occupants in such vehicles

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.25/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.492/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.26/gasoline gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o Passenger Car- $120 registration fee + $25 title fee
o Electric Car- $57 registration fee + $25 title fee
o Motorcycle- $63 registration fee + $25 title fee
e Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales
o 6.35% for vehicles purchased at $50,000 or less
o 7.75% for vehicles purchased over $50,000
o 4.5% for vehicles purchased by a non-resident member of armed forces of U.S. on
active duty in CT
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)'?
e Driver’s License Fees
o License, permit, and fee
o New Issue Regular: $84 (5 Y4 to 7 years)

12 https://portal.ct.eov/DMV/Fees/Fees/Commercial-Fee-Chart

10
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O 00000 O0O0 o0

New Issue CDL: $70 or $87.50 (3 Y2 to 5 years)
New Issue Drive Only License: $36 (3 years)
Duplicate License Fee: $30

License Exam Fee: $40

Learner’s Permit: $19

New Non-Driver Identification Card: $28 (7 years)
Commercial Driver’s License Knowledge Test: $16
Commercial Driver’s License Skills Test: $30
Commercial Driver’s License Learner’s Permit: $20

11

T

.
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DELAWARE

%

Electric Vehicles
Delaware adopted California’s Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) regulations in March 2022,

[

e SB 21 (2021), enacted
o Amends the Delaware Energy act to allow state agencies to charge employees and
the public a fee for charging stations on state property, so long as those fees do
not exceed the agency’s cost

e SB 187 (2021), enacted
o Requires municipalities with a population over 30,000 to develop a procedure to
obtain permission for the installation of an electric vehicle charging station on real
property zoned for residential use that abuts a residential street

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.23/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.22/gallon)
e Vehicle Registration Fees
o Car Renewal- $40
o Moped- $5
o Motorcycle- $15
o Farm Trucks
= 5,000 pounds or less- $40
= Greater than 5,000 pounds- $3.80/each 1,000 pounds over 5,000
o Recreational Vehicles
= 5,000 pounds or less- $40
= Greater than 5,000 pounds- $6.40/each 1,000 pounds over 5,000
o Trailers
= (-1,000 pounds- $15
= 1,001-2,000 pounds- $20
= 2,001-5,000 pounds- $40
= For each 1,000 pounds over 5,000- $18
o Commercial Vehicles
® 5,000 pounds or less- $30
= For each 1,000 pounds over 5,000~ $18
o Title with Lien- $55
o Title without Lien- $35
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees
o Ranges from $30-60 with a weight fee of $10 for every 8,000 pounds
e Tolls"

e Transit Fares/Operating Revenues'*

13 hitp://www.deldot.gov/public.ejs?command=PublicTolIRateCalc
' hitps://www.transit.dot.gov/ntd/data-product/2019-annual-database-fare-revenues

12
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FLORIDA
Electric Vehicles

o HB 737 (2022), failed
o Would have required the Florida Public Service Commission to adopt rules in a
neutral manner to allow for competition in an effort to avoid monopolies in the
electric vehicle industry

e HB 943 (2020), failed
o Would have created a master plan for the development of electric vehicle
charging stations through building partnerships with local governments, other
state and federal entities, electric utilities, the business community, and the public
in support of electric vehicle charging stations

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
o Fuel Taxes ‘

o Gasoline ($0.19/gallon)

o Diesel ($0.19/gallon)

o Alternative Fuels

= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.04/gasoline gallon equivalent)
s Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.04/diesel gallon equivalent)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees

o Initial Registration Fee- $225
Motorcycles- $10
Moped- $5
Antique Motorcycle- $7.50
Antique Automobile- $7.50
Automobiles (net weight up to 2,499 pounds)- $14.50
Automobiles (2,500 — 3,499 pounds)- $22.50
Automobiles (3,500 or more pounds)- $32.50
Autocycle- $10
Trucks (net weigh up to 1,999 pounds)- $14.50
Trucks (2,000 — 3,000 pounds)- $22.50
Trucks (3,001 — 5,000 pounds)- $32.59
Title Fees
Original New- $77.25
Original Used- $85.25
Transfer/ Duplicate- $75.25

o Lien Only- $74.25

e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)!®
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees'®
e Surcharge on Rental Vehicles - $2/day

O 000000000000 O0OoO0

15 https://www.flhsmv.gov/fees/
1 https://fdotwww.blob.core.windows.net/sitefinity/docs/default-source/maintenance/str/owodp/schedule-of-
fees.pdf?sfvrsn=d37c¢7453 0

13
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e Tolls"
e Congestion Pricing/High-Occupancy Toll Lanes'®

17 https://www.sunpass.com/en/tolls/tollsSunPass.shtml
18 https://www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/high-occupancy-vehicle-decal/

14
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GEORGIA

Electric Vehicles

¢ SR 463 (2022), enacted
o Creates the Joint Study Committee on the Electrification of Transportation to
report findings or recommendations to establish a comprehensive, strategic plan
that sets policy objectives for infrastructure, economic preparedness,
transportation funding, and the development of a successful electric vehicle
market in the state of Georgia

e SR 604 (2022), enacted
o Introduces March 3™ as Electric Vehicle Day to recognize the significant benefits

of electric vehicles for Georgia drivers

e HB 170 (2015), enacted
o Creates an annual fee for alternative fuel vehicles of $200 and $300 for
commercial alternative fuel vehicles, adjusted for inflation
o Defines alternative fuel vehicles as vehicles fueled solely by electricity, natural
gas, propane, bi-fuel, or dual fuel and plug-in hybrid-electric vehicles
o Eliminates the zero emission and low emission income tax credit available to
purchasers and lessees of new motor vehicles

Primary State Highway Revenue Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.291/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.326/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels ($0.291/gallon)
e Special Fees on Heavy Vehicles
o Vehicles with gross weight of 15,500-26,000 pounds- $50
o Vehicles with gross weight of 26,001 pounds or higher- $100
Oversize Truck Permit Fees'
Tolls (minimum $0.10/mile)*°
Hotel Fees ($5/night)
Electric Vehicle Fees
o $300 for commercial
o $200 for personal

19 hitp://www.dot.ga.gov/PartnerSmart/permits/Pages/Oversize.aspx#tab-2
20 hitps://www.peachpass.com/how-do-i-use-peach-pass/pricing/

15
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Hawaii
Electric Vehicles
e Hawaii plans on being 100% fueled by clean energy by 2045

e HB 1174 (2019), failed
o Proposed a state vehicle miles traveled fee for electric vehicles
= Would have been levied by the county director of finance based on a
comparison of the electric vehicle’s current odometer reading with the
odometer reading of the previous year
= Miles traveled fee would have been paid at the same time as the county
registration fee

e HB 552 (2021), enacted
o Creates clean ground transportation goals for state agencies on a staggered basis,
achieving a 100% passenger vehicle clean fleet by 12/31/30
o Beginning 01/01/22 new purchases of light-duty motor vehicles must be zero-
emission

e HB 424 (2021), enacted
o Requires all state and county entities to rent an electric or hybrid vehicle when
acting on behalf of a state employee in conducting official government business

Primary Transportation Funding Sources

e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.16/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.16/gallon)
o Alternative fuels ($0.16/gallon)

e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o $45 and $7 Highway Beautification Fee

e State Vehicle Weight Tax?!
o Vehicles up to 4,000 pounds: 1.75 cent/pound
o Vehicles 4,001 pounds to 7,000 pounds: 2 cents/pound
o Vehicles 7,001 pounds up to 10,000 pounds: 2.25 cents/pound
o Vehicles over 10,001 pounds: flat rate of $300

e Sales Taxes on Rental Vehicles
o 4%

e Property Rentals and Leases

e Fines for Use of a Mobile Electronic Device While Driving
o fines start at $297%

21 https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing/motor-vehicles-fee-
information#:~:text=Al1%20passenger%20vehicles%20are%201.25,are%202.5%20cents%20per%20pound.
22 https://governor.hawaii.gov/newsroom/dot-news-release-april-is-national-distracted-driving-awareness-month-2/

16
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Idaho

Electric Vehicles

e HB 312 (2015), enacted
o Institutes a fee on electric ($140) and hybrid cars ($75) in order to generate new
funding for the state’s roads and bridges

e HB 361 (2021), failed
o Would have increased electric vehicle fee from $140 to $300
o Would have given owner of electric vehicle an option to pay per-mile charge of
2.5 cents per mile driven instead of $300 fee
o The plug-in hybrid vehicle fee of $75 remains the same

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.32/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.32/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels ($0.32/gallon)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o $69 for vehicles 1-2 years old
o $57 for vehicles 3-6 years old
o $45 for vehicles 7+ years old
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o Non-Commercial and Farm Trucks
= 8,001 - 16,000 pounds: $73.00
= 16,001 - 26,000 pounds: $86.08
= 26,001 - 30,000 pounds: $116.68
= 30,001 - 40,000 pounds: $155.08
= 40,001 - 50,000 pounds: $213.28
= 50,001 - 60,000 pounds: $336.88
o Commercial Trucks and Interstate Buses
= 8,001 - 16,000 pounds: $73.00
= 16,001 - 26,000 pounds: $168.40
= 26,001 - 30,000 pounds: $248.80
= 30,001 - 40,000 pounds: $316.60
= 40,001 - 50,000 pounds: $385.00
= 50,001 - 60,000 pounds: $540.40
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees ($60/permit)
e Truck Permit Fees (temporary permits, hazardous materials transportation permits)?®
e Special Fees on Hybrid and Electric Vehicles
o Electric Vehicles- $140/year
o Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles- $75/year
e Tolls (available, but not in current use)

23 https://trucking.idaho.gov/permits/

17
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ILLINOIS

Electric Vehicles

e SB 2940 (2022), enacted
o Instructs Illinois to increase adoption of electric vehicles in the state to 1,000,000
by 2030
o Establishes an electric vehicle rebate for residents purchasing an electric vehicle
in Illinois
= Beginning 07/01/22, a $4,000 rebate for the purchase of an electric vehicle
that is not an electric motorcycle
= Beginning 07/01/26, a $2,000 rebate for the purchase of an electric vehicle
that is not an electric motorcycle
= Beginning 07/01/28, a $1,500 rebate for the purchase of an electric vehicle
that is not an electric motorcycle
= Beginning 07/01/22, a $1,500 rebate for the purchase of an electric
motorcycle

e HB 1769 (2021), enacted
o Provides tax credits for income tax withholding, training costs, tax exemptions,
and investment credits to abate property taxes for electric vehicle projects
o Creates an Electric Vehicle Permitting Task Force to ensure permits for electric
vehicle projects are streamlined
o Allows a 20% price preference for electric vehicles built in Illinois for state
procurements

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline (§0.392/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.467/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels
= Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.467/gallon)
= Compressed Natural Gas ($0.392/gallon)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o Standard vehicle- $151 registration + $155 vehicle title
o Motorcycle- $41 registration
o Recreational Trailer 3,000 pounds or less- $18 registration
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o 16,000 pounds or less: $250
16,001 — 20,000 pounds: $326
20,001 — 24,000 pounds: $390
24,001 — 28,000 pounds: $478
28,001 — 32,000 pounds: $606
o 32,001 —36,000 pounds: $710
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees?*

o O O O

2 https://www.illinoistollway.com/travel-information/overweight-overdimension-permits
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Kentucky
Electric Vehicles

e HB 8 (2022), enacted

o Beginning in 2024, electric vehicle power excise tax is $0.03 per kWh excise tax
at any charging station and an additional $0.03 per kWh surtax on power used to
charge electric vehicles on state property. The tax rate will be adjusted each year
based on changes in the National Highway Construction Cost Index 2.0 and funds
from the tax are to be deposited into the road fund?>

o Electric vehicle ownership fees are $120 for electric vehicles and $60 for electric
motorcycles or hybrid vehicles. These fees are to be split 50/50 between the road
fund and the general fund

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.26 gallon; note that $0.014 is excluded from Road Fund)
o Diesel ($0.23/gallon; note that $0.014 is excluded from Road Fund)
o Alternative Fuels ($0.03 per kWh)
»  Liquefied Petroleum (9% of price)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o $21 registration fee; $9 title fee
e  Motor Vehicle Usage Tax (MVUT) or U-drive-it tax, which is an alternative pay to pay
the MVUT for certain car rental companies, on Motor Vehicle Sales
o 6% of retail price
o Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o Weight-Distance Taxes
o $0.0285 per mile for carriers with weight greater than 59,999 pounds?®
e Oversize/Overweight Permit Fees
o vehicle specific; varies from $80 to $1,500
e Driver’s License (DL) Fees
o Standard Credential DL or Motorcycle License $21.50/4 year, $43/8 year
Real ID DL or Motorcycle License $24/4 year, $48/8 year
Driver/Motorcycle License Combo Standard $26.50/4 year; $53/8 year
Driver/Motorcycle License Combo Real ID $29/4 year, $58/8 year
Personal ID Standard $11.50/4 year, $23/8 year
Personal ID Real ID $14/4 year, $28/8 year
Driver’s Permit Standard $15/3 year
Drivers Permit Real ID $18/3 year
Motorcycle Permit standard $15/1 year
Motorcycle Permit Real ID $18/1 year

O O O O 0O O O 0O o

25 https://www.ncsl.org/Portals/1/Documents/meetings/SALT/DShinkle-SALT-Transportation-Funding-Trends.pdf
https://apps.legislature. ky.gov/record/22rs/hb8.html

26 https://drive.ky.gov/motor-

carriers/Pages/KY U.aspx#:~:text=What%20is%20K entucky%20Weight%20Distance,is%20%240.0285%20cents%

20per%20mile
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e Tolls?’

27 https://riverlink.com/
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Minnesota
Electric Vehicles

e HF 1146/SF 1122 (2019), failed
o  Would have directed MnDOT to establish a mileage-based user fee (MBUF)

program

e HF 523 (2021), failed
o Proposed that owners of an all-electric vehicle to pay a road usage charge
beginning July 2022
= Road usage charge would be calculated based on the miles driven,
multiplied by the excise tax rate for gasoline, divided by the vehicle’s fuel
economy
o Proposed an implementation fee surcharge that would have been determined
annually or on a less frequent basis

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.285/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.285/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels
= E85 ($0.2025/gallon)
Pure Biodiesel (B100) ($0.285 per gallon)
Propane ($0.2135 per gallon)
Liquefied Natural Gas ($0.171 per gallon)
Compressed Natural Gas ($2.50 per thousand cubic feet)
e Vehicle Registration Taxes
o $10 annual fee plus
¥ For vehicles registered in Minnesota prior to 11/16/2020- 1.25% of the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination
charge
= For vehicles registered in MN on or after 11/16/2020, 1.285% of the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the vehicle
e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o 0-15,000 pounds: $120
15,001-18,000: $145
18,001-21,000: $190
21,001-26,000: $270
26,001-33,000 $360
33,001-39,000: $475
o See chart for additional weights?®
e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees
o Single Trip: $15 + damage assessment fee?’

O 0 O O O

28 hitps://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Documents/2022%20Minnesota%20Motor%20Vehicle%20Tax%20Manual . pdf
% https://www.dot.state.mn.us/cvo/oversize/damage-assessment-fees html
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e Commercial Vehicle Inspection Fees™®
e Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicles
o 6.5% of the vehicle purchase price
e Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Leases
o 6.875%
e Fees on Rental Vehicles
o 9.2% rental tax and 5% rental fee®!
e Congestion Pricing/High-Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lanes
o $0.25-$8.00
e Traffic Fines®?

30 https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/169.781
31 https://www.revenue.state.mn.us/guide/rentals-not-subject-motor-vehicle-rental-tax-and-fee
32 https://www.co.itasca.mn.us/224/Common-Violation-Fine-Amounts
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Missouri
: Electric Vehicles

e The goal is to transition from taxable horsepower to a vehicle’s combined mpg rating but
is not meant to replace current fuel taxes and not a per-mile road usage charge

e According to MoDOT, legislation is required to implement a mpg-based registration fee
structure. The Missouri General Assembly has considered five pieces of legislation over

s three years that would have implemented the proposed revenue mechanism supported by

‘ MoDOT. However, none of these bills had been enacted as of October 2020

e HB 2600 (2018), failed
o Proposed a base vehicle registration fee for all vehicles based on EPA fuel
economy
= Base fee of $29 + additional fee based on combined city/highway MPG
= Rating of 29 MPG or less would pay no additional fee
= Rating above 29 MPG up to and including 98 MPG would pay additional
fee of $3 for each MPG rated above 29 MPG
= Rating of 99 MPG and above would pay fee of $210
= Motorcycles would pay additional fee of $8.60
= Motortricycles would pay additional fee of $10

e HB 500 (2019), failed
o Would have established a MPG based motor vehicle registration fee

= Base annual registration fee is $24 for motor vehicles other than
commercial vehicles

= Vehicles with a combined city/highway MPG rating of 29 MPG or less
would pay no additional fee

= Vehicles with rating greater than 29 MPG up to and including 60 MPG
would pay $6 for each MPG the vehicle is rated above 29 MPG

= Vehicles with rating greater than 60 MPG, an amount equal to total fee
paid by a vehicle with a rating of 60 MPG

= Motorcycles pay $8.50

= Motortricycles and autocycles pay fee of $10

= Motor vehicles that have paid the alternative fuel decal fee required under
Section 142.869. RSMo, would pay a fee equivalent to the total fee paid
by motor vehicles with a rating greater than 60 MPG. This fee shall be in
addition to any fee required under Section 142.869

e SB 201 (2019), failed
»  Proposed that noncommercial vehicles with a combined city/highway
rating at less than 29 MPG shall pay a base fee of $24
®  Vehicles rated at more than 29 MPG but less than 61 MPG would have
paid an additional fee of $6 per MPG exceeding 29 MPG
= Vehicles rated at 61 MPG or more would have paid a fee equivalent to fee
for a vehicle rated at 60 MPG
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= Vehicles subject to the alternative fuel decal fee would have paid
registration fees equal to those of vehicles rated at greater than 61 MPG;
in addition to the fees required for the alternative fuel decal

= No modification for motorcycles, motortricycles, or autocycles

= [f MPG rating can’t be determined, motor vehicle would have been rated
at 29 MPG or be rated if it is subject to the alternative fuel decal
requirement

e HB 2301 (2020), failed

o Proposed filing of MPG fuel ratings when vehicle is registered. Annual
registration fee for non-commercial vehicles is determined based on motor
vehicle’s combined city/highway MPG rating

»  Vehicles with a rating of 19 MPG or less would pay $25

Rating greater than 19 MPG, up to and including 29 MPG would pay $32

Rating greater than 29 MPG, up to and including 39 MPG would pay $39

Rating greater than 39 MPG, up to and including 49 MPG would pay $46

Rating greater than 49 MPG, up to and including 59 MPG would pay $53

Rating equal to or greater than 60 MPG would pay $75

Annual registration fee for plug in electric hybrid vehicle would be $112,

and for electric vehicles, $125

= Annual registration fee for motorcycles, motortricycles, and autocycles
would be $10

e SB 906 (2020), failed

o Proposed a fee of $25 for vehicles 12,000 pounds and under

o Registration fees for property carrying local commercial vehicles other than land
improvement contractors’ vehicles would have been increased to $25 for vehicles
18,000 and under

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes

o
o
(0]
O

Gasoline ($0.22 gallon)

Diesel ($0.22/gallon)

Alternative fuels ($0.11 per gasoline gallon equivalent)??
Jet Fuel ($0.09)

e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees (registration fees are determined by the vehicle’s

taxable horsepower (HP)

(¢]

O O O O O

)34

Under 12 HP or electric vehicle or low speed vehicle - $18.25/1 year fee
12 —23 HP - $21.25/1 year fee

24 — 35 HP - $24.25/1 year fee

36 —47 HP - $33.25/1 year fee

48 — 59 HP - $39.25/1 year fee

60 — 71 HP - $45.25/1 year fee

Bhttps://afdc.energy.gov/laws/all?state=MO#:~:text=Alternative%20Fuel%20 Tax&text=%240.11%20per%20GAS

OLINE GALLON EQUIVALENT%20from%?20January,1%2C%202025%2C%20and%20beyond.

34 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees
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o 72 HP +-$51.25/1 year fee
: e Special Fees on Electric and Some Alternative Fuel Vehicles®®
o Passenger Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas: $90
; o Passenger Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV: $45
o 18,001 — 36,000 pounds Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas with a farm
“F” tab on plate: $120
o 18,001 — 36,000 pounds Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV with a farm “F” tab on
plate: $60
o 18,001 —36,000 pounds Annual Fee for Electric, LP, and Natural Gas without a
farm “F” tab on plate: $180
o 18,001 —36,000 pounds Annual Fee for Plug-in Hybrid EV without a farm “F” tab
on plate: $90
e Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales and Leases
o 4.225% of retail price
e Truck Registration Fees (determined by truck’s weight and whether truck will be used
locally, 50 miles from home, or over a wider area)*®
e Driver’s License Fees:

PERMIT/DRIVER LICENSE/NONDRIVER ID FEES

Fees and duration of license are based on applicant’s age at the time of transaction.

Valid Valid Valid Valid Valid

TYPE OF DOCUMENT up to up to up to upto up to ex"‘i’r'l‘," Duplicate
6 months 1 year 2-years 3 years 6 years piring

*Class A, B,orC

MInImun"l a'ge 18 $16 1
Class E

Minimum age: 18 §7 $7
Class F

Minimum age: 15 87 $7
Class M

Minimum age: 15 1/2 $9.75 87
Class M

Minimum age: 16 §7 $7

INTERMEDIATE LICENSE

Class F
Minimum age: 16

i DRIVER LICENSE

*Class A, B,orC $26 -3 yr
Minimum age: 18 $26 52 $32 -6 yr
New:
*Class A, B, or C with “S” endorsement
X $13.50 $13.50
Minimum age: 70 Renewal: $6
Class E $21 -3 yr
Minimum age: 18 el e $27 -6 yr
New:
*Class E with “S” endorsement $11 $11
Minimum age: 70 Renewal:
Class F $13.50-3yr
Minimum age: 18 s i $19.50-6 yr
NONDRIVER ID
Class ND
No minimum age s i e
| Class ND
| Minimum age: 70 8 L
*Applicable fees for written and road tests are not included. (08-2019)

35 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/fuel-decals.html
36 https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/fees.html#regisfees
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New Hampshire
Electric Vehicles

e HB 1649 (2020), failed
o Proposed MPG increment ranges of $10 for vehicles rated 20 MPG or less up to
$100 for vehicles rated over 50 MPG. Non-gasoline vehicles would have been
assessed $125

e HB 478 (2019), failed

o Proposed a road usage fee for motor vehicles that have a MPG of 20 or greater,
registered to travel on NH roads based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the
vehicle

o The road usage fee would have been calculated as $111 minus the estimated road
toll paid per year based on 10,000 miles of travel for each vehicle. The base
amount of $111 based on a 20 MPG vehicle that travels 10,000 miles ($0.222
road toll X 500 gallons)

e HB 1763 (2018), failed
o Proposed that the state would create a road usage fee schedule for vehicles rated
over 20 MPG based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle.
o Road usage fee would have ranged from 0 for vehicles that average less than 20
miles per gallon (MPG) up to $111 for vehicles that average 51 MPG or more
(including gasoline free vehicles)

e HB 621 (2017), failed
o Proposed road usage fees upon registering a vehicle rated at 22.5 MPG or more
based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle.
o The fee would have been collected at the time of annual registration of the vehicle
and deposited in a separate restricted road usage account within the highway fund

e HB 1602 (2016), failed
o Proposed a road usage fee on vehicles with a fuel economy rating over 20 MPG
and non-gasoline vehicles based on the equivalent miles per gallon of the vehicle.
o The fee would have been collected at the time of annual registration of the vehicle
and deposited in a separate restricted road usage account within the highway fund

Primary Transportation Funding Sources
e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.222/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.222/gallon)
o Alternative fuels ($0.222/gallon)
e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees®’
o 0-3,000 pounds - $31.20
o 3,001-5,000 pounds.- $43.20

37 http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/261/261-141.htm
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o 5,001-8,000 pounds.- $55.20
o 8,000-73,280 pounds. - $0.96 per hundred pounds. gross weight
e Truck Registration Fees
o Up to 73,280 pounds $0.96 per 100 pounds gross weight
o Over 73,280 pounds $1.44 per each 100 pounds gross weight or portion in excess of
73,280
e Tolls
e Rest Area Sponsorship
e Rest Area Food or Fuel Concessions
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Utah

Electric Vehicles

The Utah Road Usage Charge Program began 01/01/2020 and allows fully electric
vehicles, plug-in hybrid vehicles and gasoline hybrid vehicles to enroll in the program
o Asof 1/01/2022 the road usage charge rate is 1.52 cents per mile
o Ifaregistered owner chooses not to enroll their vehicle in the road usage charge
program, they are subject to the annual flat fee in SB 136, but road usage charge
program participants area not charged more in road usage charges annually than a
vehicle type flat fee

HB 362 (2015), enacted
o Directs UDOT to continue researching road usage charges as an alternative to fuel
tax

SB 174 (2017), enacted
o Creates the Transportation Governance and Funding Task Force and required a
report on how the state could address statewide funding needs via user charges.
o Recommendation was to authorize and direct UDOT to begin a road usage charge
demonstration/pilot program as a potential future alternative to motor fuel

SB 136 (2018), enacted
o Requires UDOT to implement a road usage charge demonstration by 01/01/2020
instead of collecting an annual flat fee for electric vehicles, plug-in electric hybrid
vehicles and gas hybrid vehicles
o Requires UDOT to create a road usage charge Advisory Committee to lead the
development of the road usage charge program

SB 72 (2019), enacted
o Reverses 2018 SB 136 that only authorized a demonstration program to allow a
permanent road usage charge program
o Directs UDOT to create rules regarding enrollment, withdrawal, and removal,
mileage reporting, commercial account management (CAM), enforcement, and
privacy and data sharing

SB 150 (2020), enacted
o Requires UDOT to submit a plan to the legislature with potential ways to enroll
all registered vehicles in the state by 12/31/31

o Reenacts certain reporting provisions originally approved in 2019 through SB
2001

SB 82 (2021), enacted
o Establishes the Road Usage Charge Program Special Revenue Fund within the
state transportation fund to cover the costs of administering the road usage charge
program
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Primary Transportation Funding Sources

e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.319/gallon)
o Diesel ($0.319/gallon)
o Highway Use (variable rate- percentage of price, also to be indexed)
o Alternative Fuels

e Vehicle Registration and Title Fees
o $46 for motorcycle
o $44 for motor vehicles of 12,000 pounds or less
o $31 for trailer or semitrailers over 750 pounds gross unladen weight
o $28.50 for commercial trailers or semitrailers 750 pounds or less gross unladen

weight

o $120 for electric motor vehicles
o $52 for plug-in hybrid electric motor vehicles

e Road usage charge in lieu of registration (1.52 cents/mile)

e Sales Taxes on Rental Vehicles (2.5%)

e Truck Registration Fees (based on gross vehicle weight)
o $53 for farm truck over 12,000 pounds but not exceeding 14,000 pounds gross

laden weight

o $9 for each $2,000 pounds over 14,000 pounds gross laden weight

e Oversize/Overweight Truck Permit Fees (see chart)®

e Tolls (range from $0.25 to $2.00)

38 https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/size-weight-permitting/oversize-overweight-
provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-provisions/oversize-non-divisible-load-permit-fee-schedule/
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Washington
Electric Vehicles
The Washington State Transportation Commission (WSTC) created a pilot project to test an
operational road usage charge program using a flat per-mile rate (took state’s average vehicle
MPG of 20.5 and divided it by state gas tax of 49.4 cents per gallon).The 12-month study
involved 2,000 participants and concluded that a road usage charge system was feasible and
could out-produce the gas tax long-term to fund transportation needs. WSTC provided 16
recommendations on how Washington could manage the transition from a gas tax to a road usage
charge system.

WSTC is now studying the first four tasks of the Forward Drive project:

1. Utilizing financial modeling that considers advancements and future adoptions of
autonomous, connected, electric and shared vehicles as a growing component of roadway
miles

2. Conducting an in-depth analysis which will identify and measure potential disparate
impacts of road usage charges to communities of color, low-income households,
vulnerable populations and displaced communities

3. Updating mileage reporting methods such as identifying and testing new technologies, as
well as enhanced in-person mileage reporting options

4. Collaborating with other states to explore strategies to reduce the administrative costs of
collecting road usage charges

e SB 6001 (2014), enacted
o Makes a biennial $450,000 appropriation in 2014 to develop a work plan and
concept of operations to move away from gas tax while introducing a road usage
charge on a portion of vehicles and using the gas tax in the interim as a pre-
payment mechanism to reduce collection costs and evasion

e SB 6106 (2018), enacted
o Requires period reporting on the road usage charge pilot to the road usage charge
steering committee

e HB 1160 (2019), enacted
o Requires a final report on road usage charge pilot by January 2020, but to
continue researching impacts of road usage charges on low-income households,
vulnerable populations, and displaced communities

e SB 5974 (2022), enacted
o Requires all new buildings to have at least one parking space or 10% of parking
spaces round to the next whole number be made-ready for Level 2 electric vehicle
supply equipment
o By 2023, all public EV charging stations must display all charges and fees

Primary Transportation Funding Sources

e Fuel Taxes
o Gasoline ($0.494/gallon)
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o Diesel ($0.494/gallon)
o Alternative Fuels
e Vehicle Registration
o $43.25 standard fee plus
= 0-4,000 pounds +$25
4,001-6,000 pounds + $45
= 6,001-8,000 pounds + $65

= 8,001 pounds and over + $72

e License Fees*
o Learner’s Permit- $25/1 year

o Motorcycle Learner’s Permit- $15/180 days

o 1 DL- $89/6 years
o ID Card- $54/6 years or $72/8 years

o Renew DL- $54/6 years or $72/8 years

e Vehicle Title Fees
o $15.50 title transfer fee
e License Plate Retention Fees ($20)*

e Special Fees on Electric Vehicles
o $150 electric vehicle fee

o $75 electrification fee (for electric and hybrid vehicles)

Tolls (see website)*!

based on speed of vehicles in the lane)

3 https://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/fees.html

Sales Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales (0.3%) and Rental Vehicles (5.9%)

Studded Tire Fees ($5 studded fire fee and $1 tire fee)
Congestion Pricing/Variable Tolling/High-Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lanes ($0.50-$9.00

“Ohttps://apps.leg.wa.gov/rew/default.aspx?cite=46.1 7.200#:~:text=(b)%20A%20license%20plate%20retention,vehi

cle%20is%20exempt%20from%20payment

41 https://wsdot.wa.gov/travel/roads-bridges/toll-roads-bridges-tunnels/good-go-accounts-passes
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