The following information was submitted by Mike Sunseri, Deputy Executive Director, Kentucky Office of Homeland Security, on January 25, 2024, in response to questions from members during the January 23, 2024, meeting of the Investments in Information Technology Improvement and Modernization Projects Oversight Board.



Below are current 911 fee rates for our surrounding states (all are monthly unless otherwise noted).

	State
	Wireline (landline)
	Postpaid wireless
	Prepaid Wireless
	VoIP

	Indiana
	$1.00
	$1.00
	$1.00
	$1.00

	Illinois
	$1.50
	$1.50
	3% Point of Sale (POS)
	$1.50

	Kentucky
	Set locally
	$0.70
	$0.93/transaction POS
	Set locally

	Missouri
	Set locally (up to $1.00)
	Set locally (up to $1.00)
	Set locally (up to $1.00)
	Set locally (up to $1.00)

	*Ohio
	$0
	$0.40
	$0.40
	$0.40

	Tennessee
	$1.50
	$1.50
	$1.50
	$1.50

	Virginia 
	$0.75
	$0.94
	$0.63
	$0.75

	West Virginia
	Set locally
	$3.64
	6% POS
	Set locally



*While Ohio’s fees are lower than its border states, the Ohio legislature approved $62 million last year for statewide NG911 implementation.

