OVERVIEW OF STATE 911 FEES--UPDATED February, 2020

STATE WIRELINE POST-PAID WIRELESS PRE-PAID WIRELESS VolP MLTS FEBRUARIZY2Y | Response logged
No Change in Fees; No
Alabama $1.86 $1.86 $1.86 $1.86 None Found pending legislation 2020/20
found.
Per administrative rule, no HB 160--Municipal
surcharge shall be imposed s EthanceF? 91d1_
. urcharge Pending-
Alaska $0.00 - $2.00 $0.00 - $2.00 None Found N/A ol Gl (e SO vGllze Carryover-House 211712020
communication wireline Community and
connections at a single Regional Affairs
subscriber location Committee 3.8.2017
No Change in Fees; No
Arizona $0.20 $0.20 0.8% of Sale $0.20 None Found pending legislation 2/17/2020
found
Arkansas 5% - 12% of tariff rates $1.30 10% per retail transaction amount $1.30 None Found No pendifr;%rledgislation 2/18/2020
SB 96 updated the fee
structure from a
percentage of intrastae
5 . revenue to a flat fee.
California $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 $0.30 None Found Legislation went into 2/17/2020
affect Jan 1, 2020.
_ 911 Funding bill in draft
Colorado 50-$3.00 50 - $3.00 1.4% of Sale 50 - $3.00 _ +50-53.00per form for 2020, not yet 21712020
interconnection with PSTN introduced.
Connecticut $0.58 $0.58 $0.58 $0.58 None Found No pending legisiation 210/2020
Delaware $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 None Found No pending legisiation
District of Columbia $0.76 $0.76 2% of Sale $0.76 $0.76 No pending legisiation 20/20/2020
Bill a fee to a subscriber based
on the number of access lines
Florida $0.40 $0.40 $0.40 $0.40 pineCeeS S SL gl | No pending legisiation 211712020
system, on a service-identifier found
basis, up to a maximum of 25
access lines per account
All lines that can N ding legislati
Georgia $1.50 $1.50 $1.50 $1.50 simultaneously call 911 are 0 pen ;r;%nzgls ation 2/17/2020
charged $1.50
H 206 Pending-
Hawaii $0.27 $0.66 N/A $0.66 None Found Carryover-Conference 2/18/2020
Committee 4.11.2017
Idaho $1.00 or $1.25 $1.00 or $1.25 2.5% of Sale $1.00 or $1.25 None Found No pending legisiation 21712020
|.50 Statewide .50 Statewide .50 Statewide SR B Esmergen/iy Tg|eph0ne
Illinois $5.00 Chicago $5.00 Chicago 3% of Sale; 9% of Sale - Chicago $5.00 Chicago = P ystem Act Sunsets 211712020

01/01/2018

01/01/2018

01/01/2018

network connection

12/31/2020
Legislation Pending




Pending legislation HB
1235 designed to clean
up existing language
since the original bill
sunsets July 2020.

2/18/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

No pending legislation

2/20/2020

No pending legislation
found

No pending legislation
found

2/20/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/17/2020

$1928, H 2913 PrePaid
Wireless POS Pending
2.6.2020

2/7/12020

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

H 89 Failed in
Committee; S 2861
Emergency Telephone
Service Charges Vetoed
by the Governor
4.18.2017

No pending legislation
found

No pending legislation
found

2/17/2020

$1.00 $1.00 $1.00
$1.00 $1.00 $0.51
$0.90 $0.90 2.06% of Sale
Local gov’t option to enact & collect;
method and amount varies per county
(utility fees, annual property fees). .
Current range - $0-$7.00; annual based 78 OSS(Peitznsactes
fees are more variable in method and
ranging from $24 - $75
$0.62-$1.25Res  $1.30-$2.75 Bus $0.85-$1.25 4% of Sale
$0.35 $0.35 $0.35
$1.25 $1.25 $0.60
$1.50 $1.50 $1.50
$0.25 State
$0.00 - $3.00 County $0.25 State $0.00 - $3.00 County 5% of Sale
$0.95 $0.95 $0.95
$1.05 Res $2.05 Bus $1.00 $1.00
2% - 15% of Base Rate (45 counties)
1/8% - 1% of Sales Tax (51 counties) None Found None Found
None (19 counties
$1.00 $0.00 $1.00
$0.50 - $1.00 $0.45 - $0.70 1.1% Point of Sale

No pending legislation
found.

2/17/2020

Varies; property tax and/or surcharge

Must be equal to wireline surcharge

None Found

No pending legislation
found




No pending legislation
found

2/20/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/6/2020

8.3.2107 SB 411,
Chapter 96 added a
Telecommunications
Relay Service surcharge

of 0.33% to Wireline,
Wireless, and VolP to
the monthly bills. Pre-
Paid Wireless surcharge
is paid at the point of the
transaction. Effective
July 1, 2017

2/20/2020

A 3086 Prepaid
\Wireless Services Public
Safety Surcharges-
Pending 1.26.2017; A
7680 Funds from
Wireless
Communications
Surcharges-Pending

2/27/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/6/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/20/2020

S 487 Prepaid Wireless
Communications
Service-Pending-

Carryover 2.6.2017; S
599

Telecommunications-
Pending-Carryover
2.6.2017; S 766 Prepaid
Wireless
Telecommunications-
Pending-Carryover
2.6.2017; H 2274
Emergency
Telecommunications
Service-Pending-
Carryover 2.6.2017.

2/18/2020

No pending legislation
found

2/17/2020

$0.75 $0.75 $0.75
$0.90 $0.90 N/A
$0.51 $0.51 1.38% Enhancec! 911 surcharge on
each transactions gross value.
$1.20 or $1.50 If County has a local
$0.35 - $1.00 $1.50 surcharge enacted through "home
rule" legislation.
$0.65 $0.65 $0.65
$1.50-$2.00 $1.50-$2.00 2.5% of Sale
$0.50 (max) (Only a few counties) $0.25 0.5% of Sale
3-15% of Base Rate $0.75 $0.75
$1.00 $1.00 $1.00
$1.65 $1.65 $1.65
$1.00 $1.26 2.5% of Sales Price

No pending legislation
found

2/18/2020

S 39 Prepaid Wireless
E911 Charge-Pending
1.18.2017; H 5075
Emergency Telephone
Number Act-Pending
1.11.2017.

2/20/2020




on the number of access lines:

Fifty 911 Charges per

No pending legislation

h li - B 0.62 0.62 .45 - S1. 2/18/202
South Carolina $1.50-50.75 Start up costs; $ $ $0.45 - $1.00 Sl o A found /18/2020
$1.00-$0.50 On-going costs
South Dakota $1.25 $1.25 2% of Sale $1.25 No pending legisiation 21172020
One 911 Surcharge for each outbound " . .
Tennessee $1.16 $1.16 $1.16 $1.16 ey | pendufr;%rzguslahon 2/20/2020
surcharges per building
No pending legislation;
However, there is an
interim charge to:
Examine a revamped
emergency service fee
system to aid in
o L appropriately funding
Texas $0.50 State Fees vary by district $0.50 2% of Sale $0.50 State Fees vary by district None Found the upgrade of the 2/20/2020
state's current 911
emergency
communications
infrastrucutre so that it
can become more
compatible with wireless
ad data dri
$0.71 per month per Access Line for $0.71 per month per Access Line for On July 1, 2019: 3.7% of the sales $0.71 per month per Access Line for
911 emergency service charge (PSAPS | 911 emergency service charge (PSAPS price per transaction. 911 emergency service charge (PSAPS
receive directly); on July 1, 2019 $.25 | receive directly); on July 1, 2019 $.25 receive directly); on July 1, 2019 $.25
per month per access line for Unified | per month per access line for Unified per month per access line for Unified 2020 Legislation t
Statewide 911 Emergency Service Statewide 911 Emergency Service Statewide 911 Emergency Service minimizeegﬁ atrl;nsfgrs
Utah Accounty (UT 911 Division receives); | Accounty (UT 911 Division receives); Accounty (UT 911 Division receives); None Found and tie 911 funding to 2/18/2020
After July 1, 2018: $0.18 per month, After July 1, 2018: $0.18 per month, After July 1, 2018: $0.18 per month, standards
per access line to dedicated radio per access line to dedicated radio per access line to dedicated radio
network account to maintain the network account to maintain the network account to maintain the
public safety radio communications public safety radio communications public safety radio communications
netwark (11CA raceivec): On lanuars 1| natwark (1ICA racsivec): On lanuar 1 netwark (11CA receives): On lannary 1
o - o - o - - i i i
Vermont 2.4% Customer Telecommunications | 2.4% Customer Telecommunications | 2.4% Customer Telecommunications Vel arlar by AEaama No fees specific for MLTS in | No pending legislation 212012020
Charges Charges Charges Vermont found
$0.75 on every line or trunk
A that allows simultaneous and | No pending legislation
Virginia 0.75 0.75 0.50 0.75 ) AT 2/7/2020
& $ 5 5 s unrestricted outward dialing found
to the PSTN.
. State 911 Excise Tax State 911 Excise Tax State 911 Excise Tax . q q No pending legislation
Washington 0.25 statewide $0.70 counties No State 911 Excise Tax 2/18/2020
g $0.25 to state, $0.70 to counties $0.25 to state, $0.70 to counties $0.25 to state, $0.70 to counties $ 5 found
PSC Increased the
Wireless Enhanced 911
Fee from $3.00 to $3.34
per month per
$.98-36.40 levied by County. $.98-36.40 levied by County. agRserber !
s The PSC noted the weighted average X The PSC noted the weighted average 911 Fee Failed
West Virginia 3.34 6% Point of Sale None Found .
E 911 fee imposed by counties was $ ° 911 fee imposed by counties was 2.8.2017; S335 Failed
$3.34 as of March 31, 2017. $3.34 as of March 31, 2017. 2.16.2017;
Telecommunications
Tax Failed 3.18.2017; H
2729 Failed 2.28.2017;
H 2975 Failed
3.13.2017.
911 surcharge per trunk
connection; for Centrex with No ding legislati
Wisconsin $0.00-$1.40 per subscriber by County N/A None Found N/A line side connections a 911 pending legisiation 2/20/2020

surcharge is based on a trunk
equivalent ratio

found




Max allowable is 0.75/line. Max allowable is 0.75/line.
All Counties have imposed the max All Counties have imposed the max
except 2 (0.50 & 0.35) except 2 (0.50 & 0.35)

1.5% of Sale

No pending legislation
found

2/17/2020

OCTOBER 31, 2017 VERSION: INITIAL DOCUMENT

JANUARY 2, 2018 VERSION: ADDED CHANGES TO THE CALIFORNIA PREPAID MOBILE TELEPHONY SERVICES (MTS) SURCHARGE RATE.
I I

February 2020 update |




