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Expungement Certification Process 
State law (KRS 431.079) requires every petition for expungement in Kentucky to include a certificate of eligibility 

for expungement. Individuals who wish to have their criminal records (charges/cases) expunged must complete 

the expungement certification process to determine if they are eligible for expungement. 

The Kentucky State Police will oversee this process in conjunction with the Administrative Office of the Courts. 

Both agencies must run criminal record reports on the person petitioning for the expungement. The KSP will 

certify the eligibility of the expungement request. 

Expungement certification costs $40 and the process takes up to 60 days. It is important to note that a 

certification is not an expungement. Only a judge can expunge a charge/case. Individuals who obtain an 

expungement certification may then file a petition for expungement with the Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the 

county where the original charge was filed. 

The expungement certification is valid for 30 days and the petition for expungement must be filed before the 

certification expires. 

Three (3) different ways to request an Expungement Certification 

      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Online Requests In-Person Requests Mail-Service 

Request 

 1. Register on AOCs website 

(courts.ky.gov).  An email 

account is required and will 

be verified during 

registration. 

2. Complete the online 

request form. 

3. Submit $40 payment.  

(Accepted forms of payment: 

American Express, Discover, 

MasterCard and Visa credit 

cards and most debit cards.) 

4. Check your email for 

notification when the 

certification packet is 

available on line. 

5. Log in to the registration 

site to download the 

certification packet.  

 

 

1. You may request an 

expungement certification 

in-person at the drive-thru 

window at:  

AOC, 1001 Vandalay  Drive,  

Frankfort,  KY 

2. Request a paper copy of 

the Expungement 

Certification Request Form 

and complete. 

3. Submit $40 payment. 

4. You will receive your 

certification packet by U.S. 

Mail at the address you 

provided. 

 

1. Download and complete 

the Expungement 

Certification Request Form. 

2. Provide the $40 payment 

by check or money order 

made payable to KY State 

Treasurer. 

3. Mail the completed form 

and payment to: 

AOC, 1001 Vandalay Drive, 

Frankfort, KY 40601 

4. You will receive your 

certification packet by U.S. 

Mail at the address you 

provided.  

File the certification documents and the proper expungement petition with the Office of Circuit 

Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed. 


