Expungement Certifications




Overview

State law (KRS 431.079) requires every petition for expungement in Kentucky to include a
certificate of eligibility for expungement. Individuals who wish to have their criminal records
(charges/cases) expunged must complete the expungement certification process to determine if
they are eligible for expungement.

The Kentucky State Police will oversee this process in conjunction with the Administrative Office
of the Courts. Both agencies must run criminal record reports on the person petitioning for the
expungement. Then KSP will certify the eligibility of the expungement request.

Expungement certification costs S40 and the process takes up to 60 days. It is important to note
that a certification is not an expungement. Only a judge can expunge a charge/case. Individuals
who obtain an expungement certification may then file a petition for expungement with the
Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.

The expungement certification is valid for 30 days and the petition for expungement must be
filed before the certification expires.



Three (3) different ways to request an
Expungement Certification

In-Person
Requests

N\ | —

File the certification documents and the proper expungement petition with the Office of
Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.

Online Requests Mail In Request



How the Certification is Created

» All the charges from AOC and KSP are combined into one list of
charges.

* Most common reasons the records are not the same —
o AOC has all charges someone has been to court for. Examples: Speeding, minor violations.
o AOC retention schedule is much shorter than KSP. Typically 5 years.
o KSP only has offenses that someone was arrested and fingerprinted for.
o KSP retention schedule for criminal history is 80 years.

» Each individual charge is then evaluated for eligibility based on all
the requirements listed in KRS 431.073, 431.076 and 431.078.

* This can be done quickly on a certification that has only a few charges or it can take hours for
a certification that has hundreds of charges.

* The average number of charges per certification in the last 5 years is 57.



EXPUNGEMENT ELIGIBILITY CERTIFICATION NOTICE

“Expungement cetification expires 30 days from report date listed below. ™

Report Date: 05/18/2018

Name: DOB:
Request ID: SSN:
This expungement cerification contains 3 parts: (1) Certification Notice, (2) Kentucky State Police Criminal

History Report and (3) Administrative Office of the Courts Criminal Record Report. The pages are
sequentially numbered for authentication purposes.

Pursuant to KRS 431.079, the Administrative Office of the Courts and the Department of
Kentucky State Police hereby certify that they have conducted a search of their respective criminal history

repositories and that the subject identified above is or 1s not eligible for an expungement pursuant to KRS
431.076 or431.078, for the charges listed below.




Example 1

Arrest Date: Case: - - Eligible
Charge: 2 FAILURE OF OWNER TO MAINTAIN REQUIRED INSURANCE/SECURITY 15T YES
Disposition: 09/14/2017  DISMISSED

Arrest Date: Case: - - Eligible
Charge: 1 FAILURE TO USE CHILD RESTRAINT DEVICE IN VERICLE NO
Disposition: 09/14/2017  GUILTY KRS 431.073(2)

Arrest Date: Case: - - Eligible

Charge: 1 POS5 OF MARLJUANA NO
Disposition: 03/30/2018  DISMISSED KRS 431.076(2)




Example 2

Arrest Date: Case: -—- Eligible

Charge: 1 FLAGRANT NON SUPPORT NO
Disposition: ~~ 0B/15/2014  DIVERSION KRS 431.073(4)(c)
Arrest Date: Case: - - Eligible
Charge: 1 FLAGRANT NON SUPPORT NO
Disposition: 11/19/2008  AMENDED DOWN KRS 431.078(4)(c)
Arrest Date: Case: - - Eligible
Charge: 1A NON SUPPORT NO

Disposition: 122212010 GUILTY KRS 431.078(4)(c)




