SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Minutes of the 5th Meeting of the 2024 Regular Session

March 13, 2024

Call to Order and Roll Call

The fifth meeting of the Senate Standing Committee on Transportation was held on March 13, 2024, at 10:00 AM in Room 131 of the Capitol Annex. Senator Jimmy Higdon, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll.

Present were:

<u>Members:</u> Senators Jimmy Higdon, Chair; Brandon J. Storm, Vice Chair; Senators Karen Berg, Jared Carpenter, Robby Mills, Brandon Smith, Johnnie Turner, Phillip Wheeler, Gex Williams, Mike Wilson, and David Yates.

<u>Guests:</u> Will Fogle, General Counsel, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC); and Rob Thompson, Engineering Branch Manager, Department of Highways, KYTC

LRC Staff: John Snyder, Dana Fugazzi, Ashley Nash, and Christina Williams.

Approval of January 31, February 14, and March 5, 2024 meeting minutes

The minutes of the January 31, February 14, and March 5, 2024 meetings were approved.

Bills for Consideration

HB 19

AN ACT relating to the operation of a motor vehicle.

Sponsor: Representative Mary Beth Imes

House Bill 19 was discussed by its sponsor, Representative Mary Beth Imes. After brief discussion, Senator Robby Mills made a motion to pass House Bill 19. Senator Karen Berg seconded the motion, which passed on a 10-0-1 roll call vote.

HB 193/CS

AN ACT relating to motor vehicles in a highway work zone.

Sponsor: Representative John Blanton

House Bill 193 was discussed by its sponsor, Representative John Blanton, who indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Senator Brandon Storm made a motion to adopt the committee substitute. Senator Robby Mills seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. After brief discussion, Senator Robby Mills made a motion to pass House Bill 193 as amended by the committee substitute. Senator Gex Williams seconded

the motion, which passed on a 11-0-0 roll call vote.

SJR 58/CS/CTA

A JOINT RESOLUTION designating the Chief Deputy Jody Wayne Cash Highway in Caldwell County.

Sponsor: Senator Whitney Westerfield

Senate Joint Resolution 58 was discussed by Chairman Jimmy Higdon, who stated the resolution commemorated Chief Deputy Jody Wayne Cash, and designated a road in his honor in Caldwell County. He also indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Senator Robby Mills made a motion to adopt the committee substitute. Senator Brandon Storm seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. The committee substitute is the omnibus road naming resolution which includes honorary road and bridge namings throughout the Commonwealth. After brief discussion, Senator Robby Mills made a motion to pass Senate Joint Resolution 58 as amended by the committee substitute. Senator David Yates seconded the motion, which passed on a 11-0-0 roll call vote. Senator Mike Wilson then made a motion to adopt the title amendment (Doc ID 8081). Senator Brandon Storm seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote.

Consideration of Referred Administrative Regulations

Will Fogle, General Counsel, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC); and Rob Thompson, Engineering Branch Manager, Department of Highways, KYTC, appeared before the committee to explain and take questions on Administrative Regulation 603 KAR 005:155, which addresses vegetation management. No objections were raised, and it was not found to be deficient nor was it deferred.

603 KAR 005:155 Proposed - Vegetation management.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman Higdon adjourned the meeting at 10:31 A.M.