HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Minutes of the 7th Meeting of the 2024 Regular Session

March 12, 2024

Call to Order and Roll Call

The seventh meeting of the House Standing Committee on Transportation was held on March 12, 2024, at 12:00 PM in Room 154 of the Capitol Annex. Representative John Blanton, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll.

Present were:

<u>Members:</u> Representatives John Blanton, Chair; Jonathan Dixon, Vice Chair; Representatives Josh Branscum, Randy Bridges, Adrielle Camuel, Daniel Elliott, Ken Fleming, David Hale, Samara Heavrin, Keturah Herron, John Hodgson, Thomas Huff, Mary Beth Imes, Derek Lewis, Kimberly Poore Moser, Amy Neighbors, Ruth Ann Palumbo, Rachel Roberts, Tom Smith, Ashley Tackett Laferty, Walker Thomas, Ken Upchurch, Bill Wesley, and Wade Williams.

<u>Guests:</u> Colonel Pat Morgan, Kenton County Sheriff; Jerry Wagner, Retired Sheriff, Executive Director, Kentucky County Sheriff's Association; Jason Wilson, President, Kentucky Auto Dealers Association (KADA), Tom Underwood, KADA; Ryan Dotson, State Representative, District 73

LRC Staff: John Snyder, Dana Fugazzi, Ashley Nash, and Christina Williams.

Approval of March 5, 2024 Minutes

The minutes for the March 5, 2024 meeting were approved.

Bills for Consideration

HB 833/CS

AN ACT relating to motor vehicle inspectors.

Sponsor: Representative David Meade

House Bill 833 was discussed by its sponsor, Speaker Pro Tempore, Representative David Meade, who indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Representative Jonathan Dixon made a motion to adopt Proposed House Substitute 3. Representative Josh Branscum seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. Appearing with Speaker Pro Tempore Meade was Colonel Pat Morgan, Kenton County Sheriff; Jerry Wagner, Retired Sheriff, Executive Director, Kentucky County Sheriff's Association; Jason Wilson, President, Kentucky Auto Dealers Association (KADA), Tom Underwood, KADA, who all spoke in favor

of the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Ken Upchurch made a motion to pass House Bill 833 as amended by the committee substitute. Representative Jonathan Dixon seconded the motion, which passed on a 23-0-1 roll call vote.

SB 107 GA

AN ACT relating to transportation and making an appropriation therefor.

Sponsor: Senator Jimmy Higdon

Senate Bill 107 was discussed by its sponsor, Senator Jimmy Higdon. After brief discussion, Representative Samara Heavrin made a motion to pass Senate Bill 107. Representative Ken Upchurch seconded the motion, which passed on a 24-0-0 roll call vote.

SB 46 GA

AN ACT relating to motor vehicles.

Sponsor: Senator Greg Elkins

Senate Bill 46 was discussed by its sponsor, Senator Greg Elkins. Appearing with Senator Elkins was Representative Ryan Dotson, who supported the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Daniel Elliott made a motion to pass Senate Bill 46. Representative Mary Beth Imes seconded the motion, which passed on a 24-0-0 roll call vote.

HCR 36/CS/CTA

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION establishing the Autonomous Vehicle Task Force.

Sponsor: Representative John Blanton

Vice Chair Jonathan Dixon assumed the chair as House Concurrent Resolution 36 was discussed by its sponsor, Representative John Blanton, who indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Representative Tom Smith made a motion to adopt Proposed House Substitute 2. Representative Mary Beth Imes seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. After brief discussion, Representative Tom Smith made a motion to pass House Concurrent Resolution 36 as amended by the committee substitute. Representative Amy Neighbors seconded the motion which passed on a 24-0-0 roll call vote. Vice Chair Dixon indicated there was a title amendment to the measure (Doc ID 7971). Representative Josh Branscum made a motion to adopt the title amendment, Representative Mary Beth Imes seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the committee, Vice Chair Dixon adjourned the meeting at 12:29 P.M.