HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Minutes of the 1st Meeting of the 2025 Regular Session

February 11, 2025

Call to Order and Roll Call

The first meeting of the House Standing Committee on Transportation was held on February 11, 2025, at 12:00 PM in Room 154 of the Capitol Annex. Representative John Blanton, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll.

Present were:

<u>Members:</u> Representatives John Blanton Chair; Mary Beth Imes Vice Chair; Representatives Ryan Bivens, Josh Branscum, Randy Bridges, Anne Gay Donworth, Myron Dossett, Daniel Elliott, Samara Heavrin, John Hodgson, Matthew Lehman, Derek Lewis, Bobby McCool, Amy Neighbors, Rachel Roarx, Tom Smith, Ashley Tackett Laferty, Walker Thomas, and Ken Upchurch.

Guests: Representative Jason Petrie, Brooks Clark Young.

LRC Staff: Dana Fugazzi, Ashley Nash, and Christina Williams.

Bills for Consideration

HB 15

AN ACT relating to instruction permits and declaring an emergency.

Sponsor: Representative Steven Rudy

House Bill 15 was discussed by its sponsor Representative Steven Rudy. Appearing with Representative Rudy was primary co-sponsor, Representative Jason Petrie, and Brooks Clark Young, who both advocated for the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Samara Heavrin made a motion to pass House Bill 15. Representative Myron Dossett seconded the motion, which passed on a 17-0-2 roll call vote.

HB 161

AN ACT relating to identity documents.

Sponsor: Representative Kevin Jackson

House Bill 161 was discussed by its sponsor, Representative Kevin Jackson. After brief discussion, Representative Bobby McCool made a motion to pass House Bill 161. Representative Josh Branscum seconded the motion, which passed on a 19-0-0 roll call vote.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman John Blanton adjourned the meeting at 12:24 P.M.