HOUSE STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Minutes of the 4th Meeting of the 2025 Regular Session

March 4, 2025

Call to Order and Roll Call

The fourth meeting of the House Standing Committee on Transportation was held on March 4, 2025, at 12:00 PM in Room 154 of the Capitol Annex. Representative John Blanton, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll.

Present were:

<u>Members:</u> Representatives John Blanton Chair; Mary Beth Imes Vice Chair; Representatives Ryan Bivens, Josh Branscum, Randy Bridges, Anne Gay Donworth, Myron Dossett, Daniel Elliott, David Hale, Samara Heavrin, John Hodgson, Thomas Huff, Matthew Lehman, Derek Lewis, Bobby McCool, Amy Neighbors, Rachel Roarx, Tom Smith, Ashley Tackett Laferty, and Walker Thomas.

<u>Guests:</u> Seth Cutter, Vice President, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport (CVG); and Rebecca Hartsough, Senior Policy Director, Babbage Cofounder, representing CVG Airport; Brett Hightower, Sheriff, Warren County; Jason Wilson, President, Kentucky Automobile Dealers Association (KADA); and Tom Underwood, KADA; Chad Larue, Executive Director, Kentucky Association of Highway Contractors; and Jason Siwula Deputy State Highway Engineer, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC)

LRC Staff: John Snyder, Dana Fugazzi, Ashley Nash, and Christina Williams.

Approval of February 25, 2025 minutes

The minutes from that February 25, 2025 meeting were approved.

Bills for Consideration

HJR 5/CS/TA

A JOINT RESOLUTION designating the Deputy Sheriff Joshua Phipps Memorial Highway in Russell County.

Sponsor: Representative Josh Branscum

House Joint Resolution 5 was discussed by its sponsor Representative Josh Branscum, who stated the resolution commemorated Deputy Sherriff Joshua Phipps who was killed in the line of duty. A highway was designated in his honor in Russell County. Representative Branscum indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Representative Derek Lewis made a motion to adopt the committee substitute. Representative Walker Thomas seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. The committee substitute is the omnibus road naming resolution which includes honorary road and bridge namings throughout the Commonwealth. After brief discussion, Representative Tom Smith made a motion to pass House Joint Resolution 5 as amended by the committee substitute. Representative Derek Lewis seconded the motion, which passed on a 20-0-0 roll call vote. Representative John Hodgson made a motion to adopt the Title Amendment (Doc ID 5979). Representative David Hale seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote.

SB 87

AN ACT relating to aviation.

Sponsor: Senator Shelley Funke Frommeyer

Senate Bill 87 was discussed by its sponsor Senator Shelley Funke Frommeyer. Appearing with Senator Funke Frommeyer was Seth Cutter, Vice President, Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport (CVG); and Rebecca Hartsough, Senior Policy Director, Babbage Cofounder, representing CVG Airport, who both spoke in favor of the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Derek Lewis made a motion to pass Senate Bill 87. Representative John Hodgson seconded the motion, which passed on a 20-0-0 roll call vote.

HB 783/CS

AN ACT relating to temporary motor vehicle tags.

Sponsor: Representative Kevin Jackson

House Bill 783 was discussed by its sponsor Representative Kevin Jackson, who indicated there was a committee substitute on the measure. Representative Derek Lewis made a motion to adopt the committee substitute. Representative Walker Thomas seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. Appearing with Representative Jackson was Brett Hightower, Sheriff, Warren County; Jason Wilson, President, KADA; and Tom Underwood, KADA, who all spoke in favor of the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Samara Heavrin made a motion to pass House Bill 783 as amended by the committee substitute. Representative Derek Lewis seconded the motion which passed on a 20-0-0 roll call vote.

HB 664/CS

AN ACT relating to highway work zones.

Sponsor: Representative John Blanton

Vice-Chair Mary Beth Imes assumed the Chair. House Bill 664 was then discussed by its sponsor Representative John Blanton, who indicated there was a committee substitute. Representative Walker Thomas made a motion to adopt the committee substitute. Representative Derek Lewis seconded the motion, which passed by voice vote. Appearing with Representative Blanton was Chad Larue, Executive Director, Kentucky Association of Highway Contractors; and Jason Siwula Deputy State Highway Engineer, KYTC, who spoke in favor of the measure. After brief discussion, Representative Walker Thomas made a motion to pass House Bill 664 as amended by the committee substitute. Representative Derek Lewis seconded the motion, which passed on a 20-0-0 roll call vote.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the committee, Chair Imes adjourned the meeting at 12:39 PM.