## Section 119 Terms of office.

Justices of the Supreme Court and judges of the Court of Appeals and circuit court shall severally hold their offices for terms of eight years, and judges of the district court for terms of four years. All terms commence on the first Monday in January next succeeding the regular election for the office. No justice or judge may be deprived of his term of office by redistricting, or by a reduction in the number of justices or judges.

**Text as Ratified on:** November 4, 1975, effective January 1, 1976.

**History:** Repeal and reenactment proposed by 1974 Ky. Acts ch. 84, sec. 1; original version ratified August 3, 1891, and revised September 28, 1891.