CHAPTER 26

(HB 98)

AN ACT relating to reorganization.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Section 1. KRS 11.182 is amended to read as follows:

- (1) The membership of the commission shall consist of *forty-eight* (48)[forty five (45)]-members who have the resources to accomplish the goals set forth in Kentucky's Appalachian Development Plan created under KRS 11.180(1).
 - Ex-officio members shall be: the Governor; secretary of the Governor's Executive (a) Cabinet; secretary of the Cabinet for Economic Development; secretary of the Transportation Cabinet; secretary of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Cabinet; secretary of the Tourism Development Cabinet; secretary of the Cabinet for Families and Children; secretary of the Cabinet for Health Services; secretary of the Cabinet for Workforce Development; secretary of the Education, Arts, and Humanities Cabinet; commissioner of the Department of Agriculture; president of the Council on Postsecondary Education; president of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System; commissioner of the Department of Education; commissioner of the Department for Local Government; executive director of the Kentucky Housing Corporation; Governor's alternate to the Appalachian Regional Commission; president of Morehead State University; executive director of the University of Kentucky Appalachian Center; director of the Center for Kentucky Rural Economic Development; state director of Rural Development of the United States Department of Agriculture; executive director of the East Kentucky Corporation; chair of the Kentucky Appalachian Advisory Council's steering committee; and two (2) vice chairs of the Kentucky Appalachian Advisory Council's Steering Committee.
 - (b) Members appointed by the Governor shall be:
 - 1. A county judge/executive, mayor, executive director of an area development district, president of a community college, member of the House of Representatives, member of the Senate, and member of the state's judicial branch, all of whom shall be currently serving in the Appalachian region of the Commonwealth. The members who are a representative, a senator, and a representative of the judicial branch shall serve in a nonvoting capacity;[and]
 - 2. Nine (9) at-large members; *and*
 - 3. One (1) member representing the Community Action Agencies of Appalachian Kentucky.
 - (c) Members appointed by and representing certain entities shall be: two (2) members of the Kentucky Appalachian Advisory Council; one (1) member of the University of Kentucky Office of Management and Budget; one (1) member from the Christian Appalachian Project; one (1) member appointed by the United States Representative from the Fifth Congressional District; and one (1) member appointed by the East Kentucky Leadership Foundation's board of directors.

LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION PDF VERSION

CHAPTER 26

PDF p. 2 of 2

- (2) Members listed in subsection (1)(a) and (b)1. of this section shall serve during their terms of office or appointment. Members listed in subsection (1)(b)2., (1)(b)3., and[subsection](1)(c) of this section shall serve four (4) year staggered terms and may be reappointed.
- (3) Members of the commission who are not state employees shall receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.
- (4) Each member of the commission may designate in writing over his signature an alternate with full authority, in the absence of the designating member for any reason, to attend any properly convened meeting of the commission and to participate in the consideration of any business and transactions of the commission. Any designation of an alternate may, in the discretion of the designating member, be limited to be effective only for a designated meeting or only for specified business. An alternate shall not be entitled to vote upon any business or transactions of the commission.

Section 2. The General Assembly confirms Executive Order 99-42, dated January 12, 1999, relating to increasing the membership of the Kentucky Appalachian Commission from forty-five (45) members to forty-eight (48) members, to the extent it is not otherwise confirmed by this Act.

Approved February 25, 2000

LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION PDF VERSION