CHAPTER 227

(HB 356)

AN ACT relating to the Flood Control Advisory Commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Section 1. KRS 151.560 is amended to read as follows:

- (1) There is hereby created the Flood Control Advisory Commission, which shall be composed of sixteen (16) members appointed by the Governor as follows:
 - (a) Two (2) state legislators, one (1) from the Senate and one (1) from the House of Representatives; two (2) mayors; and two (2) county judges/executive; and
 - (b) One (1) member from each of the following river basins: Big Sandy; Licking; Kentucky; Salt; Green; Ohio River Main Stem; Tennessee; Mississippi; and Upper Cumberland; and
 - (c) The commissioner of the Department for Local Government or commissioner's designee.
- (2) Except for the commissioner of the Department for Local Government, each member shall serve a four (4) year term, except the first commission members were appointed by the Legislative Research Commission to serve terms as follows:
 - (a) Three (3) members to serve for terms of two (2) years from the date of appointment;
 - (b) Three (3) members to serve for terms of three (3) years from the date of appointment; and
 - (c) Three (3) members to serve for terms of four (4) years from the date of appointment.
- (3) Commission members may be reappointed. A vacancy in an unexpired term shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointment to that term.
- (4) Any member who misses three (3) consecutive meetings of the commission shall be deemed to have vacated the office. The commission shall declare the office vacant, and the office shall be filled as provided by subsection (3) of this section.
- (5) Two (2) of the commission members shall be elected by the commission to serve on the Water Resources Authority of Kentucky, which service shall cease with the expiration of the term of appointment on the commission, if not sooner.
- (6) The commission shall annually elect one (1) of its members as chairperson. The commission shall meet quarterly or more often if necessary. A quorum for the transaction of business shall be nine (9) members, and a majority of the members present at a meeting may take action on any matter legally before it.
- (7) Members shall be paid their necessary expenses incurred in attending meetings and in the performance of their official duties, and shall receive a one hundred dollar (\$100) stipend per meeting attended.
- (8) The commission shall be attached for administrative purposes to the Department for Local Government which shall provide the staff services and resources necessary to support the

- commission in the performance of its statutory duties through the Division of Flood Control established by KRS 147A.009.
- (9) The commission shall promulgate administrative regulations as necessary to control internal procedures. The commission shall promulgate by administrative regulation the boundary for each river basin referred to in subsection (1)(b) of this section. **Approved March 29, 2000**