CHAPTER 445 CHAPTER 445

(SJR 107)

A JOINT RESOLUTION reauthorizing the Electricity Restructuring Task Force.

WHEREAS, the 1998 General Assembly assembled the Electricity Restructuring Task Force for the purpose of thoroughly studying the many aspects of electricity restructuring; and

WHEREAS, the 1998 task force acquired a significant base of knowledge on electricity restructuring which should not be lost to the state; and

WHEREAS, a finding of the 1998 task force stated that Kentucky is uniquely positioned because of low rates for electricity to monitor the progress of restructuring in other states and to develop options to best protect the interests of Kentuckians; and

WHEREAS, the issue of electricity restructuring is complex and deserving of continuing, thoughtful study;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Section 1. The Electricity Restructuring Task Force is reauthorized for the purpose of monitoring developments related to electricity restructuring, maintaining its knowledge of the issue, studying within the context of electricity restructuring low income energy assistance, and making recommendations it deems appropriate for consideration by the 2002 General Assembly and the Governor. The task force shall meet at least quarterly but may meet more frequently at the discretion of the chairpersons. The first meeting shall be held no later than October 1, 2000. The task force shall report to the Legislative Research Commission and the Governor no later than November 15, 2001.

Section 2. (1) The task force shall be comprised of the following members:

- (a) Ten members from the executive branch, to be appointed by the Governor, with one member being the Attorney General or his designee; and
- (b) Ten members from the General Assembly, of which three members shall be appointed by the President of the Senate, three members shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House, two members shall be appointed by the Senate Minority Floor Leader, and two members shall be appointed by the House Minority Floor Leader. All legislative branch appointments shall be approved by the Legislative Research Commission.
- (2) The task force shall have three co-chairs, one appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the President of the Senate, and one appointed by the Speaker of the House. All appointments shall be made before July 31, 2000. All legislative appointments shall be approved by the Legislative Research Commission.

Section 3. Except as provided in KRS 18A.200, members of the task force shall receive actual travel expenses while attending meetings.

Section 4. The task force may employ consultants with the approval of the Legislative Research Commission, request and hear testimony, or take any necessary steps to maintain its knowledge of and to monitor developments related to the issue. The task force shall be staffed by the Legislative Research Commission with assistance from the Public Service Commission.

LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION PDF VERSION

CHAPTER 445

PDF p. 2 of 2

Section 5. Provisions of this resolution to the contrary notwithstanding, the Legislative Research Commission shall have the authority to alternatively assign the issues identified herein to an interim joint committee or subcommittee thereof, and to designate a study completion date. **Approved April 21, 2000**

LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION PDF VERSION