CHAPTER 58

CHAPTER 58

(SB 116)

AN ACT relating to the Public Service Commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Section 1. KRS 278.050 is amended to read as follows:

- (1) The Public Service Commission shall consist of three (3) members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. If the Senate is not in session when a term expires or a vacancy occurs, the Governor shall make the appointment to take effect at once, subject to the approval of the Senate when convened. Appointments to the Public Service Commission made more than ninety (90) days prior to a regular session of the General Assembly shall be subject to confirmation by the Joint Interim Committee on Energy. Each of the three (3) members of the commission shall be appointed on or before the first day of July, 1982, for staggered terms as follows: one (1) shall serve until the first day of July, 1983, one (1) until the first day of July, 1984, and one (1) until the first day of July, 1985, and thereafter for a term of four (4) years and until a successor is appointed and qualified. *Each member*[Members] of the commission shall be a full-time employee as defined in KRS 18A.005(15)[devote their entire time to the duties of their offices].
- (2) The Governor shall appoint one (1) of the commissioners on the commission to act as chairman thereof and the chairman shall be the chief executive officer of the commission. The Governor shall designate one (1) of the commissioners on the commission to serve as vice chairman thereof and act for the chairman in the latter's absence.
- (3) Vacancies for unexpired terms shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments, but the appointee shall hold office only to the end of the unexpired term.

Approved March 15, 2002