CHAPTER 317

(HB 810)

AN ACT relating to the Commission on Small Business Advocacy.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

Section 1. KRS 11.200 is amended to read as follows:

- (1) There is created the Commission on Small Business Advocacy. The commission shall be a separate administrative body of state government within the meaning of KRS 12.010(8).
- (2) It shall be the purpose of the Commission on Small Business Advocacy to:
 - (a) Address matters of small business as it relates to government affairs;
 - (b) Promote a cooperative and constructive relationship between state agencies and the small business community to ensure coordination and implementation of statewide strategies that benefit small business in the Commonwealth;
 - (c) Coordinate and educate the small business community of federal, state, and local government initiatives of value and importance to the small business community;
 - (d) Create a process by which the small business community is consulted in the development of public policy as it affects their industry sector;
 - (e) Aid the small business community in navigating the regulatory process, when that process becomes cumbersome, time consuming, and bewildering to the small business community; and
 - (f) Advocate for the small business, as necessary when regulatory implementation is overly burdensome, costly, and harmful to the success and growth of small businesses in the Commonwealth.
- (3) The Commission on Small Business Advocacy shall consist of *thirty-one* (31)[twenty-seven (27)] members:
 - (a) The Governor, or the Governor's designee;
 - (b) The secretaries of the following cabinets, or their designees:
 - 1. Economic Development;
 - 2. Natural Resources and Environmental Protection;
 - 3. Revenue; and
 - 4. Transportation;
 - (c) The state director of the Small Business Development Centers in Kentucky;
 - (d) One (1) representative of each of the following organizations, appointed by the Governor from a list of three (3) nominees submitted by the governing bodies of each organization:
 - 1. Associated Industries of Kentucky;
 - 2. National Federation of Independent Business;
 - 3. Kentucky Chamber of Commerce;

- 4. Kentucky Federation of Business and Professional Women's Club, Inc.;
- 5. Kentucky Retail Federation;
- 6. Professional Women's Forum;
- 7. Kentuckiana Minority Supplier Development Council;
- 8. Greater Lexington Chamber of Commerce;
- 9. Lexington chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners;
- 10. Greater Louisville, Inc.;
- 11. Louisville chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners;
- 12. Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce, Inc.;
- 13. Northern Kentucky Greater Cincinnati chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners; [and]
- 14. Kentucky Association of Realtors[Bowling Green chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners];
- 15. Henderson Henderson County Chamber of Commerce;
- 16. Kentucky Coal Council;
- 17. Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation; and
- 18. Kentucky Homebuilders Association;
- (e) One (1) representative from small business from each of the following areas, appointed by the Governor:
 - 1. A city of the second class;
 - 2. A city of the third class;
 - 3. A city of the fourth class; and
 - 4. A city of the fifth class; and
- (f) One (1) representative who is a small business owner served by each of the following organizations, appointed by the Governor:
 - 1. The Center for Rural Development; and
 - 2. Community Ventures Corporation; and
- (g) One (1) representative who is a small business owner under the age of thirty-five (35), appointed by the Governor.
- (4) The terms of all members appointed by the Governor shall be for four (4) years, except that the original appointments shall be staggered so that seven (7) appointments shall expire at two (2) years, seven (7) appointments shall expire at three (3) years, and seven (7) appointments shall expire at four (4) years from the dates of initial appointment.
- (5) The Governor shall appoint the chair and vice chair of the commission from the list of appointed members.
- (6) The commission shall meet quarterly and at other times upon call of the chair or a majority of the commission.

- (7) A quorum shall be a majority of the membership of the commission.
- (8) Members of the commission shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for their necessary travel expenses actually incurred in the discharge of their duties on the commission, subject to Finance and Administration Cabinet administrative regulations.
- (9) There shall be an executive director, who shall be the administrative head and chief executive officer of the commission, recommended by the commission and appointed by the Governor. The executive director shall have authority to hire staff, contract for services, expend funds, and operate the normal business activities of the commission.
- (10) The Commission on Small Business Advocacy shall be an independent agency attached to the Office of the Governor.

Approved April 11, 2002