CHAPTER 5

## **CHAPTER 5**

## (HB 179)

AN ACT relating to districts of the Supreme Court and declaring an emergency.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→ Section 1. KRS 21A.010 is amended to read as follows:

The Commonwealth is divided into seven (7) Supreme Court districts composed as follows:

- (1) First District: [Allen, ]Ballard[, Butler], Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, *Daviess*[Edmonson], Fulton, Graves, *Henderson*, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, [Simpson,] Todd, Trigg, *Union*, and Webster Counties.
- (2) Second District: *Allen*, Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, *Butler*, *Edmonson* [Daviess], Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, [Henderson,] Larue, Meade, *Monroe*, *Simpson*, *Spencer*, Ohio [, Union], and Warren Counties.
- (3) Third District: Adair, *Anderson*, Bell, *Boyle*, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Garrard, Green, Jackson, Harlan, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, Marion, McCreary, *Mercer*, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Washington, Wayne, and Whitley Counties.
- (4) Fourth District: Jefferson County.
- (5) Fifth District: [Anderson, ]Bourbon[, Boyle], Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Madison[, Mercer], Scott, and Woodford Counties.
- (6) Sixth District: [Bath, ]Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll[, Fleming], Gallatin, Grant,[-Harrison,] Henry, Kenton[, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas], Oldham, Owen, Pendleton[, Robertson], Shelby[, Spencer], and Trimble Counties.
- (7) Seventh District: *Bath*, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, *Clay*, Elliott, *Estill*, *Fleming*, Floyd, Greenup, *Harrison*[Harlan], *Jackson*, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, *Lee*, *Leslie*, Letcher, *Lewis*, Magoffin, Martin, *Mason*, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, *Nicholas*, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, *Robertson*, Rowan, and Wolfe Counties.
- → Section 2. (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, effective for the 2022 primary and for no other election, the filing deadline for candidates seeking election to the Supreme Court in the newly redistricted First, Second, or Sixth Supreme Court District in compliance with Section 110 of the Constitution of Kentucky, any candidate seeking election to the Supreme Court in the Fourth Supreme Court District, and any candidate seeking election to the Court of Appeals, shall be January 25, 2022. All nomination papers shall be filed no later than 4 p.m. local time on the last date on which the papers may be filed.
- (2) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, effective for the 2022 primary and for no other election, the time of the drawing for ballot positions and the certification of candidates shall be suspended and shall be held at a time determined by the Secretary of State or the county clerk, as appropriate, following the filing deadline established under subsection (1) of this section.
- (3) Any other necessary election deadlines for the 2022 primary and for no other election, excluding the date of the primary under KRS 118.025, shall be established by the Secretary of State or county clerk, as appropriate.
- → Section 3. Whereas the provisions of this Act will affect judicial elections to be held in November 2022, an emergency is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect upon its passage and approval by the Governor or upon its otherwise becoming a law.

## Signed by Governor January 18, 2022.