23A.050 Judicial circuits with four Circuit Judges and four numbered divisions.

The following judicial circuits are entitled to four (4) judges and shall have four (4) numbered divisions of the Circuit Court:

- (1) Third Judicial Circuit.
- (2) Sixth Judicial Circuit.
- (3) Ninth Judicial Circuit.
- (4) Fourteenth Judicial Circuit.
- (5) Twenty-seventh Judicial Circuit.
- (6) Twenty-eighth Judicial Circuit.
- (7) Fifty-fourth Judicial Circuit.

Effective: January 2, 2023

History: Amended 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 129, sec. 4, effective January 2, 2023. -- Amended 2018 Ky. Acts ch. 57, sec. 4, effective July 14, 2018. -- Amended 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 44, sec. 2, effective August 1, 2010. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 250, Pt. V, sec. 3, effective January 1, 2007. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 173, Pt. XIII, 1.(3), sec. 3, effective July 15, 2006. -- Amended 2003 Ky. Acts ch. 66, sec. 6, effective June 24, 2003. -- Created 1976 (1st Extra. Sess.) Ky. Acts ch. 14, sec. 479.

Legislative Research Commission Note (1/2/2023). Under 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 129, secs. 10 and 11, the terms of new judgeships created in the amendments to this statute begin January 2, 2023, and elections to fill the judgeships must be placed on the ballot for the regular election held in November 2022. All candidates for those judgeships who file a valid petition for nomination are to be placed on the ballot for that election.

Legislative Research Commission Note (1/1/2007). 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 250, Pt. V, sec. 6, provides that the new judgeship created by subsection (2) of this statute shall become effective January 1, 2007.