00RS HB886


WWW Version

HB 886/FN (BR 2595) - De. Butler

     AN ACT relating to optometrists.
     Amend KRS 320.210 to include low vision rehabilitation within the definition of the "practice of optometry"; amend KRS 320.230 to require that the optometrist members on the Board of Optometric Examiners are in good standing with the board; amend KRS 320.240 to broaden the board's authority to promulgate administrative regulations from those involving applicants, the issuance of licenses, and the conduct of licensing examinations to all matters set forth in this chapter; delete provision requiring all purchases of pharmaceutical drugs by optometrists to be upon purchase order forms approved by the board; amend KRS 320.250 to permit the board to include in the examinations given applicants an examination on Kentucky optometric law; delete provision barring a person from taking the examination more than 3 times in a five-year period and replace with a provision that requires a person to reapply and submit a new application fee if the application lapses; amend KRS 320.270 to revise the requirements for licensing by endorsement to require at least five years of experience immediately preceding submission of the application, that the applicant has not violated any provision of the chapter or is not the subject of a pending board action or malpractice suit, that the applicant meets all the qualifications for regular licensing, and submits a nonrefundable fee with an application; delete provision authorizing the board to use a portion of its annual renewal fees to contract with higher education institutions for continuing education programs; amend KRS 320.290 to delete provisions restricting personal solicitation of business; delete provision permitting the board to prepare advertisements; amend KRS 320.300 to delete provision requiring an optometrists to file his or her license with the county clerk in the county where he or she practices; amend KRS 320.310 to expand the disciplinary options available to the board to include ordering restitution and imposing a $1,000 fine for each violation of his chapter; amend KRS 320.321 to allow grievances to be submitted by an individual, organization, entity, or the board; require the licensee to respond to the grievance within 10 days of the date the grievance was mailed; specify that failure to respond to a complaint in a timely manner may be deemed by the board as an admission to the charge; amend KRS 320.331 to specify that an appeal of the board's final order shall not operate as a stay of the board's order, unless required by the court; provide that a violation of this chapter is a Class A misdemeanor.

     Feb 28-introduced in House
     Feb 29-to Health and Welfare (H)
     Mar 1-posted in committee
     Mar 7-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Calendar
     Mar 8-2nd reading, to Rules
     Mar 10-posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Monday, March 13, 2000
     Mar 13-3rd reading, passed 88-6
     Mar 14-received in Senate
     Mar 16-to Licensing and Occupations (S)
     Mar 21-reported favorably, 1st reading, to Consent Calendar
     Mar 22-2nd reading, to Rules
     Mar 24-posted for passage in the Consent Orders of the Day for Monday, March 27, 2000
     Mar 27--3rd reading, passed 37-1
     Mar 28-received in House; enrolled, signed by each presiding officer, delivered to Governor
     Apr 6-signed by Governor (Acts ch. 361)

Kentucky Legislature Home Page | Record Front Page