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	SUBJECT/TITLE
	AN ACT relating to hardship driver's licenses.


	SPONSOR
	Representative Royce W. Adams


MANDATE SUMMARY

	Unit of Government:
	x
	City;
	X
	County;
	X
	Urban-County


	X
	Charter County
	X
	Consolidated Local


Program/

	Office(s) Impacted:
	  Local Law Enforcement; Local jails


	Requirement:
	X
	Mandatory
	
	Optional


Effect on

	Powers & Duties
	
	Modifies Existing
	X
	Adds New
	
	Eliminates Existing


PURPOSE/MECHANICS

Under current law, only a person whose Kentucky operator's license has been suspended or revoked as a result of the current charge of driving while under the influence of alcohol or other impairing substances may be issued a "Hardship Driver's License". HB 510 creates various new sections of KRS 186.400 to 186.640 to allow a District Court to grant a Hardship Driver's License under specified conditions to a petitioning person who has violated general traffic laws causing suspension of the driver's license.  

HB 510 provides that failure to display any Hardship Driver's License decal so issued would constitute a Class B misdemeanor. A violation of other specified Hardship Driver's License restrictions would be punishable as Class A misdemeanors.

	FISCAL EXPLANATION/BILL PROVISIONS
	ESTIMATED COST


The fiscal impact of HB 510 on local government is expected to be minimal.

HB 510 allows a District Court to grant a Hardship Driver's License to a petitioning person who has violated general traffic laws causing suspension of the operator's license. Any person granted the HDL is required to have the license in his or her possession at all times when operating or is authorized to operate a motor vehicle. The person also is required to display in the rear window of the motor vehicle a Transportation Cabinet issued HDL decal. Failure to display the vehicle constitutes a Class B misdemeanor. Local law enforcement officers would need minimal training to comply with the measure, therefore, the cost born by local law enforcement would be minimal.

Local governments are responsible for incarcerating individuals charged with or convicted of a Class B misdemeanor. Individuals convicted of a Class B misdemeanor could be incarcerated for up to 90 days in any of Kentucky's 88 local or regional jails, at an average cost of $36.59 per inmate day, paid for entirely at the local government's expense. Individual jail costs range from $19 to $88.44 per inmate day.

The number of cases constituting a crime under the measure is expected to be small, therefore the cost borne by local governments would be minimal.
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