A RESOLUTION recognizing and honoring the 150th anniversary of the founding of Lexington Theological Seminary.

WHEREAS, Lexington Theological Seminary was founded as College of the Bible within Kentucky University, chartered by the Kentucky General Assembly in February 1865; and

WHEREAS, in 1936, the school began requiring a bachelor's degree from an accredited college for admission, thus becoming strictly a graduate institution; and

WHEREAS, in 1938, the Seminary played a leading role in the formation of *The Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada*, the official accrediting agency of theological institutions; and

WHEREAS, the Seminary established the first chair of religious education in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Lexington Theological Seminary instituted one of the first courses on the ecumenical church; and

WHEREAS, on the institution's 100th anniversary in 1965, it was renamed Lexington Theological Seminary; and

WHEREAS, in 2011, the Lexington Theological Seminary Board of Trustees appointed the institution's first female and African American president, Dr. Charisse L. Gillett; and

WHEREAS, as a pioneer institution, Lexington Theological Seminary has forged new paths for preparing people for ministry in communities across the Commonwealth of Kentucky, throughout the nation, and worldwide;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→ Section 1. The Senate pays sincere tribute to the trails blazed by this historic institution in the field of theological education.

- → Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the 150th anniversary of the founding of Lexington Theological Seminary.
- → Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to mail a copy of this Resolution to Dr. Charisse Gillett, Lexington Theological Seminary, Lexington, Kentucky 40503.