A JOINT RESOLUTION declaring July 1, 2016, State Employee Appreciation Day.

WHEREAS, prior to the introduction of a merit system in Kentucky state government, state employees were usually hired and fired based on the political whims of the party holding the Governor's office, required to vote the way the Governor directed, and assessed a percentage of their pay as campaign contributions; and

WHEREAS, Governor A. B. "Happy" Chandler implemented a merit system in 1959 by Executive Order to protect employees from political pressure; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bert T. Combs initiated legislation in the 1960 General Assembly establishing "a merit system of personnel administration for the civil service of the Commonwealth"; and

WHEREAS, all executive branch agencies were brought into the executive branch merit system by the final implementation date of July 1, 1961, creating, according to Fontaine Banks, assistant to Governor Combs, ". . . a stable and permanent workforce free of political interference"; and

WHEREAS, the judicial branch of state government established a position classification system that mirrored the executive branch merit system beginning in 1975; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly has begun to protect the employees of the legislative branch from political and other influences; and

WHEREAS, state employees have always performed their job duties for the betterment of the Commonwealth, even during political uncertainty, lack of salary increases, and decreased funding of their retirement systems; and

WHEREAS, state employees deserve recognition and appreciation by the General Assembly for their dedication, perseverance, and outstanding performance;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→ Section 1. July 1, 2016, shall be declared State Employee Appreciation Day,

and all three branches of state government shall observe this day by thanking their employees for their hard work and dedication.

→Section 2. The Director of the Legislative Research Commission is directed to send a copy of this Resolution to Governor Matt Bevin, Room 100, State Capitol, 700 Capitol Avenue, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 and Chief Justice John D. Minton, Supreme Court of Kentucky, Room 235, State Capitol, 700 Capitol Avenue, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601.