A RESOLUTION recognizing Leitchfield as the "Fiddling Capital of Kentucky."

WHEREAS, bluegrass fiddling was popularized in 1940 by such musical luminaries as Kenny Baker, James Pendleton Vandiver, and Kentucky legend Bill Monroe; and

WHEREAS, the fiddle has become synonymous with roots music in this Commonwealth and has grown to express not only a form of entertainment, but an art form that is integral to Kentucky's history and its artistic culture; and

WHEREAS, Leitchfield, in Grayson County, Kentucky, is home to the Twin Lakes National Fiddlers Championship, an annual music showcase certified by the National Oldtime Fiddlers' Association that features competitions in varying musical styles and forms along with its world-renowned fiddling tournament. Past winners of the Twin Lakes National Fiddlers Championship are Megan Lynch-Chowning, Andrew Lin, and Leitchfield's own Doug Fleener; and

WHEREAS, Leitchfield has long been acknowledged around the Commonwealth and the nation as Kentucky's fiddling capital for all it has done to provide a venue for fiddling and for the history and expression of bluegrass music; and

WHEREAS, this honorable body recognizes Leitchfield as the "Fiddling Capital of Kentucky" on this day, and in so doing acknowledges all those who have worked so diligently to make the town synonymous with fiddling in Kentucky; and

WHEREAS, this body also grants the organizers of the Twin Lakes National Fiddlers Championship best wishes as they continue to prepare for this summer's event, which will take place in historic Leitchfield on July 16, 2016;

NOW, THEREFORE,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

→ Section 1. The members of the House of Representatives hereby recognize Leitchfield as the "Fiddling Capital of Kentucky," and commend the Twin Lakes National Fiddlers Championship for all it does for the economy, the culture, and the vitality of Grayson County and of this entire Commonwealth.

→ Section 2. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a copy of this Resolution to Representative Tim Moore for delivery.