## **UNOFFICIAL COPY**

17 RS BR 1817

A RESOLUTION honoring the Union County High School wrestling team upon
 winning back-to-back KHSAA state championships.

WHEREAS, on February 18, 2017, at the KHSAA State Wrestling Tournament at the Kentucky Horse Park's Alltech Arena in Lexington, Kentucky, the Union County High School wrestling team won its ninth state championship and its second in a row, further cementing its place in the history of high school wrestling in this Commonwealth; and

8 WHEREAS, the Braves were led at the 2016 championships by the individual 9 performances of Zeke Escalera, who took first place in the 106-pound division; Gabe 10 Adams, fourth place in the 113-pound division; Saul Ervin, first place in the 132-pound 11 division; Bryce Sheffer, first place in the 138-pound division; Chance Oxford, third place 12 in the 145-pound division; Micah Ervin, third place in the 152-pound division; and Avery 13 Buckman, third place in the 182-pound division; and

WHEREAS, this august body rightfully honors the achievements of the Union County High School wrestling team on this day; congratulates them for winning their second consecutive championship and their ninth title in school history; and commends Coach Robert Ervin, who was named Coach of the Year in his 14th season at the school, for all he has accomplished as a leader and mentor of these fine young men;

19 NOW, THEREFORE,

20 Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 21 Kentucky:

Section 1. The members of the Senate hereby congratulate the Union County
High School wrestling team for winning the 2017 KHSAA state championship, wish the
team's seniors good luck as they begin a new chapter of their lives, and grant all those
returning wrestlers best wishes as they prepare to continue the dynasty that Coach Robert
Ervin and his support staff have built at Union County High School.

27

Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the Union  $\bullet$ 

- 1 County High School wrestling team.
- 2 → Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
  3 Resolution to Senator Dorsey Ridley.