1	A RESOLUTION honoring the top five energy-efficient school districts in
2	Kentucky for 2017.
3	WHEREAS, school facility energy costs nearly doubled between 2000 and 2008;
4	and
5	WHEREAS, the General Assembly enacted KRS 160.325 in 2008 to direct local
6	boards of education to focus on rising energy costs that were straining budgets; and
7	WHEREAS, the Kentucky School Boards Association implemented the School
8	Energy Managers Project in 2010 to support districts in developing and implementing
9	energy management plans; and
10	WHEREAS, Kentucky school districts now track energy use, develop energy
11	management plans, and report annually on energy savings to the General Assembly and
12	the Energy and Environment Cabinet; and
13	WHEREAS, since 2010, districts statewide have become 25 percent more efficient
14	in their use of energy; and
15	WHEREAS, since 2010, statewide cumulative energy cost savings total \$170
16	million;
17	NOW, THEREFORE,
18	Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of
19	Kentucky:
20	Section 1. The members of the Senate do hereby honor the Owen County,
21	Butler County, Nelson County, Walton-Verona Independent, and Scott County School
22	Districts as Kentucky's top five energy-efficient districts for 2017, and acknowledge the
23	facility decisions, procedures, and efforts implemented by the faculty, staff, and students
24	of those districts to reduce energy use.
25	Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor of the Owen
26	County, Butler County, Nelson County, Walton-Verona Independent, and Scott County
27	School Districts.

Page 1 of 2

Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
Resolution to Ms. Kerri Schelling, Executive Director of the Kentucky School Boards
Association, 260 Democrat Drive, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, for delivery to the honored
districts.