UNOFFICIAL COPY 19 RS BR 1030

1	A RESOLUTION honoring the students who wrote the book <i>No Single Sparrow</i>
2	Makes a Summer produced by the Louisville Story Program.
3	WHEREAS, every day across this Commonwealth, Kentucky's public school
4	students make strides toward becoming tomorrow's leaders, thinkers, policy makers, and
5	artists; and
6	WHEREAS, nowhere is this more true than in the Jefferson County Public School
7	System, which boasts an array of projects and initiatives that shine a light on some or
8	Kentucky's most gifted and creative young people; and
9	WHEREAS, in December 2016, Iroquois High School students Narjis Alsaadi
10	Yennifer Coca, Hafsa Jama, Atalya Lawler, Katherin Socias, A'lea Marie Smith, Autumr
11	Wilson, Maria Zaminkhan, and Mehwish Zaminkhan were chosen to be part of the lates
12	project from the Louisville Story Program, an initiative that helps Louisvillians tell their
13	life stories; and
14	WHEREAS, each of these students participated in Louisville Story Program's
15	writing and oral history projects through the 2017-2018 school year, and the culmination
16	of this work was the students' book, No Single Sparrow Makes a Summer, which
17	illustrates people and their communities in Louisville that have not been chronicled
18	before; and
19	WHEREAS, in their book, the students write about the ravages of war, life before
20	and after moving to Louisville as refugees and immigrants, the foster care system
21	juvenile detention, motherhood, misconceptions about their neighborhoods, and many
22	other pressing issues in the students' lives; and
23	WHEREAS, No Single Sparrow Makes a Summer was officially launched in
24	October 2018 at Spalding University in Louisville; and
25	WHEREAS, it is appropriate that this body commend these students on this day
26	and in so doing thank the Louisville Story Program and Iroquois High School for
27	allowing the students to have the outlet to tell these vital, consequential stories to the

UNOFFICIAL COPY 19 RS BR 1030

- 1 world;
- 2 NOW, THEREFORE,
- 3 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the
- 4 Commonwealth of Kentucky:
- 5 → Section 1. The members of the House of Representatives hereby commend
- 6 Narjis Alsaadi, Yennifer Coca, Hafsa Jama, Atalya Lawler, Katherin Socias, A'lea Marie
- 7 Smith, Autumn Wilson, Maria Zaminkhan, and Mehwish Zaminkhan for the publication
- 8 of their book No Single Sparrow Makes a Summer, and duly honor these students, their
- 9 teachers, and the Louisville Story Program for their hard work on this project.
- → Section 2. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a
- copy of this Resolution to Representative McKenzie Cantrell for delivery.