UNOFFICIAL COPY 19 RS BR 2093

1 A RESOLUTION honoring the University of Kentucky debate team upon winning

- 2 the 2019 national championship.
- WHEREAS, on March 26, 2019, the University of Kentucky debate team of Dan
- 4 Bannister and Anthony Trufanov captured the National Debate Tournament
- 5 championship; and
- WHEREAS, the University of Kentucky debate team had held the number one
- 7 ranking after defeating Harvard 4-1, the first time UK had held the top ranking since
- 8 1995; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the national championship was University of Kentucky's first since
- 10 Ouita Michel and David Brownell won the title in 1986; and
- WHEREAS, in capturing the 2019 title, Bannister and Trufanov defeated teams
- from Cornell, Cal Berkeley, and the University of Michigan; and
- WHEREAS, the team won 44 out of a possible 46 ballots over four days in the
- tournament, a historic accomplishment particularly for a public institution; and
- WHEREAS, the entire University of Kentucky debate team is Dan Bannister,
- 16 Anthony Trufanov, Gen Hackman, Jacinda Rivas, Maria Sanchez, Marcus Williams, Josh
- 17 Kendrick, and Stephani Lopez. They are ably coached by David Arnett, Lincoln Garrett,
- 18 Amar Adam, Linda Barker, and Seth Gannon;
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE,
- 20 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the
- 21 Commonwealth of Kentucky:
- **→** Section 1. The members of the House of Representatives hereby honor the
- 23 University of Kentucky debate team upon winning the 2019 national championship,
- 24 acknowledge the hard work of Coach Dave Arnett and his talented staff for their
- leadership and expertise, and grant all the student-debaters best of luck as they continue
- 26 to make the University of Kentucky proud.
- → Section 2. When the House of Representatives adjourns this day, it does so in

XXXX Jacketed

UNOFFICIAL COPY 19 RS BR 2093

- 1 honor of the University of Kentucky debate team.
- Section 3. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a

 3. Section 3. Section 3. The Clerk of the House of Representatives is directed to transmit a

3 copy of this Resolution to Representative Ruth Ann Palumbo for delivery.