UNOFFICIAL COPY

1	AN ACT re	elating to the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council.	
2	Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:		
3	→ Section	1. KRS 15.315 is amended to read as follows:	
4	The Kentucky	Law Enforcement Council is hereby established as an independent	
5	administrative body of state government to be made up as follows:		
6	(1) <u>(a) 1.</u>	The Attorney General of Kentucky; [,]	
7	<u>2.</u>	The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police; [,]	
8	<u>3.</u>	The commissioner of the Department of Criminal Justice Training:[,]	
9	<u>4.</u>	The chief of police of the Louisville Metro Police Department;[,]	
10	<u>5.</u>	The chief of police of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Division of	
11		Police <u>;</u> [,]	
12	<u>6.</u>	The director of the Southern Police Institute of the University of	
13		Louisville <u>; [,]</u>	
14	<u>7.</u>	The dean of the College of Justice and Safety of Eastern Kentucky	
15		University <u>;</u> [,]	
16	<u>8.</u>	The president of the Kentucky Peace Officers Association; [,]	
17	<u>9.</u>	The president of the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police:[,]	
18	<u>10.</u>	The Kentucky president of the Fraternal Order of Police; [,]	
19	<u>11.</u>	The president of the Kentucky Women's Law Enforcement Network:	
20	and]		
21	<u>12.</u>	The president of the Kentucky Sheriffs' Association:	
22	<u>13.</u>	The president of the Kentucky chapter of the Association of Public	
23		Safety Communications Officials; and	
24	<u>14.</u>	The president of the Kentucky chapter of the National Emergency	
25		Number Association;	
26	shall	be ex officio members of the council, as full voting members of the	
27	cound	cil by reason of their office. The United States attorneys for the Eastern	

1		and Western Districts of Kentucky may confer and designate a local law	
2		enforcement liaison who shall serve on the council in an advisory capacity	
3		only without voting privileges. Each ex officio member may designate in	
4		writing a person to represent him or her and to vote on his or her behalf.	
5		Designees of the Department of Kentucky State Police, Department of	
6		Criminal Justice Training, Louisville Metro Police Department, and the	
7		Lexington-Fayette Urban County Division of Police shall be the head of the	
8		agency's training division or the agency's deputy chief or deputy	
9		commissioner.	
10	<u>(b)</u> [(2)] Twelve (12) members shall be appointed by the Governor for terms of	
11		four (4) years from the following classifications:	
12	<u>1.</u>	A city manager or mayor; [,]	
13	<u>2.</u>	A county judge/executive;[,]	
14	<u>3.</u>	Three (3) Kentucky sheriffs: [,]	
15	<u>4.</u>	A member of the Kentucky State Bar Association; [,]	
16	<u>5.</u>	Five (5) chiefs of police: [,] and	
17	<u>6.</u>	A citizen of Kentucky not coming within the foregoing classifications.	
18		No person shall serve beyond the time he or she holds the office or	
19		employment by reason of which he or she was initially eligible for	
20		appointment. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original	
21		appointment and the successor shall be appointed for the unexpired term. Any	
22		member may be appointed for additional terms.	
23	<u>(2)</u> [(3)]	No member may serve on the council with the dual membership as the	
24	representative of more than one (1) of the aforementioned groups or the holder of		
25	more than one (1) of the aforementioned positions. In the event that an existing		
26	member of the council assumes a position entitling him to serve on the council in		
27	another capacity, the Governor shall appoint an additional member from the group		

UNOFFICIAL COPY

- 1 concerned to prevent dual membership.
- 2 (3)[(4)] Membership on the council does not constitute a public office, and no member
 3 shall be disqualified from holding public office by reason of his membership.
- 4 \rightarrow Section 2. KRS 15.320 is amended to read as follows:

5 The business of the council shall be conducted in the following manner:

6 (1) The council at its initial meeting to be held promptly after the appointment of its
7 members, shall elect a chairman and vice chairman from among its members who
8 shall serve until the first meeting in the succeeding year. Thereafter, the chairman
9 and vice chairman shall be elected at the first meeting of each calendar year.

- 10 (2) *Fourteen (14)*[Ten (10)] members of the council shall constitute a quorum for the
 transaction of business.
- 12 (3) The council shall maintain minutes of its meetings and such other records as it13 deems necessary.
- 14 (4) The council shall report at least annually to the Governor and to the General15 Assembly as to its activities.