UNOFFICIAL COPY

1		AN ACT relating to the Judicial Council.
2	Be it	t enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:
3		→ Section 1. KRS 27A.100 is amended to read as follows:
4	(1)	There is hereby created a Judicial Council composed of the following persons:
5		(a) One (1) Justice of the Supreme Court other than the Chief Justice, elected
6		by the members of that court;
7		(b) One (1) Judge of the Court of Appeals, elected by the members of that
8		<u>court;</u>
9		(c) Four (4) Circuit Judges, elected by the circuit judges;
10		(d) Four (4) District Judges, elected by the district judges [The Chief Justice of
11		the Supreme Court or his designee from among the members of that court; the
12		Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals or his designee from among the members
13		of that court; four (4) Circuit Judges, and four (4) District Judges, all of whom
14		shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court];
15		(e) The president of the Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks;
16		(\underline{f}) Three (3) members of the State Bar of Kentucky who shall be appointed by its
17		board of governors; and
18		(\underline{g}) The chairmen of the Judiciary Committees of the House of Representatives
19		and of the Senate, or the vice chairman of any of these committees if the
20		chairman declines to serve.
21	(2)	The appointed members shall serve for a term of four (4) years and until their
22		successors are appointed and qualify. Vacancies in the office of appointed members
23		shall be filled by the original appointing authority.
24	(3)	The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall be the chairman of the council, or if
25		he is not a member or declines to serve as chairman, a member of the council shall
26		be appointed by him to serve as chairman. The administrative director of the courts
27		shall serve as secretary.