UNOFFICIAL COPY

1

2

23 RS BR 1333

A RESOLUTION honoring the Bullitt East High School Chargers football team, 2022 Kentucky High School Athletic Association Class 6A Champions.

WHEREAS, on December 3, 2022, in front of a crowd of 9,331 fans at Kroger
Field on the campus of the University of Kentucky, the Bullitt East Chargers defeated the
Bulldogs of Louisville Male, 28 to 27, to capture the 2022 Kentucky High School
Athletic Association (KHSAA) Class 6A Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, in one of the most dramatic finishes in Kentucky prep football history,
the Chargers scored the go-ahead points on a two-point conversion with just 53 seconds
remaining in the game, and the Chargers' defense was able to shut down a last desperate
Male drive to win the game; and

WHEREAS, while going for the win in that situation was audacious enough, what truly set the decision apart was the play call itself: a gadget play option pass from wide receiver Nolan Davenport to quarterback Travis Egan, a play the Chargers call "Cheesesteak," an homage to the "Philly Special" play the Philadelphia Eagles used in their victory in Super Bowl LII; and

WHEREAS, the championship game itself was a back-and-forth affair that saw the Chargers fall behind on the first play of the game and eventually trail 14 to 0 before tying the score at 14 at the half, and then overcome a 10-point second half deficit; and

WHEREAS, the Chargers were led on offense in the championship game, as they were all year, by quarterback Travis Egan, who, in addition to catching the game winning pass, completed 20 of 29 passes for 286 yards and four touchdowns; running back Mason Gauthier, who accounted for 98 yards from scrimmage and caught a touchdown pass; receiver Cameron Brogan, who caught seven passes for 171 yards and two touchdowns; and receiver Nolan Davenport, who, in addition to throwing the game-winning pass, caught eight passes for 66 yards and a touchdown; and

WHEREAS, key players for the Chargers' defense included Braxton Joslin, Ryan
Rayhill, Isaiah Hare, and Ryan Still, who each recorded three unassisted tackles, and

Page 1 of 2

UNOFFICIAL COPY

1 Baron Hardesty, who recovered a Male fumble; and

WHEREAS, the victory in the championship game capped off a season that saw the Chargers compile a record of 14 wins against a single loss, win 14 games in a row after dropping their season opener, and outscore their opponents on the season by an average of 39 to 17; and

6 WHEREAS, this is the Chargers' first state championship in football, having been
7 state runners-up in Class 2A in 1994, and in Class 4A in 2008; and

8 WHEREAS, in a poll of coaches, Quarterback Travis Egan was named 1st Team 9 All-State quarterback by the Courier-Journal, and also earned the coveted title of 10 Kentucky's "Mr. Football" for 2022 from the Kentucky Football Coaches Association; 11 and

WHEREAS, the Chargers were led to the championship by head coach Keegan
Kendrick, who, in his first season as a head coach, was named Coach of the Year by the
Courier-Journal as a result of a poll of his peers across the state; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, tenacity, and teamwork shown by the Bullitt East Chargers on their journey to the state championship sets a worthy example for young athletes across the Commonwealth, and it is wholly appropriate that they be publicly recognized for their hard work and achievements;

19 NOW, THEREFORE,

20 Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 21 Kentucky:

22 → Section 1. The members of the Senate join Senator Mike Nemes in
23 congratulating the Bullitt East Chargers, 2022 KHSAA Class 6A Football champions,
24 recognizing Coach of the Year Keegan Kendrick and Mr. Football Travis Egan, and
25 wishing all team members, coaches, and staff good fortune in all future endeavors.

26 → Section 2. The Clerk of the Senate shall transmit a copy of this Resolution to
27 Senator Mike Nemes for presentation to the team.

Page 2 of 2