1 A RESOLUTION recognizing March 15 as National Preschool Teacher 2 Appreciation Day. 3 WHEREAS, National Preschool Teacher Appreciation Day is a day to recognize 4 the positive impact of preschool teachers on preschool students throughout the 5 Commonwealth; and 6 WHEREAS, the first publicly funded Head Start preschool program was created by 7 President Johnson in 1965. While enrollment was very low when the Head Start program 8 was first established, by 2005 over 800,000 four year old children participated in a public 9 preschool program; and 10 WHEREAS, the Kentucky Department of Education found that preschool teachers 11 served approximately 21,351 children in state-funded programs across the 12 Commonwealth of Kentucky during the 2019-2020 school year; and 13 WHEREAS, the success of our children and communities are considerably 14 influenced by preschool teachers who devote their hearts and minds to helping our youth 15 excel; and 16 WHEREAS, preschool teachers teach students between the ages of three and five 17 who are going through their most formative and critical learning phase; and 18 WHEREAS, the role of preschool teachers helps to prepare children for successful 19 academic careers; and 20 WHEREAS, preschool teachers foster joy in learning and are fully committed to the 21 success and continued support of Kentucky students; and 22 WHEREAS, the General Assembly recognizes and supports its preschool teachers 23 across the Commonwealth for educating students during a critical time in their education; 24 NOW, THEREFORE, Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 25 26 Kentucky: 27 This honorable body does hereby recognize March 15 as National \rightarrow Section 1.

Page 1 of 2

UNOFFICIAL COPY

- Preschool Teacher Appreciation Day in honor of the impact made by each preschool
 teacher across the Commonwealth of Kentucky on our students, families, and
 communities.
- 4 → Section 2. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
 5 Resolution to Senator Cassie Chambers Armstrong.