UNOFFICIAL COPY

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24 RS BR 2491

A RESOLUTION honoring the Sacred Heart Academy Valkyries, 2024 KHSAA Girls' Sweet Sixteen Basketball Champions. WHEREAS, on March 16, 2024, before a crowd of 3,562 fans at Rupp Arena in Lexington, the Sacred Heart Academy Valkyries defeated the Mustangs of McCracken County High School by a score of 60 to 49 to capture the 2024 Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) Girls' Sweet Sixteen Basketball Championship; and WHEREAS, the championship game, a rematch of last year's final, was a close affair in the first half, with no team holding a lead of more than five points. The Valkyries broke the game open with a 14-2 run at the end of the second quarter and the beginning of the third, turning a 28-28 tie with 55 seconds left in the first half into a 42-30 lead three minutes into the second half; and WHEREAS, the state championship is the school's eighth, which is the most in state history and marks the first time any basketball squad, boys or girls, has captured four consecutive state basketball championships; and WHEREAS, the victory in the championship game punctuated a season that saw the Valkyries compile a record of 31 wins against seven losses, extend their winning streak against teams from the Commonwealth to 73 games, and outscore their opponents by an average of over 23 points a game; and WHEREAS, the Valkyries were led by junior ZaKiyah Johnson, who averaged 18.9 points and 7.2 rebounds a game over the course of the entire season and earned Sweet Sixteen MVP honors averaging 18.9 points and 4.5 assists per game in the tournament; and

WHEREAS, other members of the Valkyries who were named to the AllTournament team were senior guard Reagan Bender, who averaged 12.3 points per game,
and senior guard Angelina Pelayo, who averaged 12.8 points and 6 rebounds per game;
and

27 WHEREAS, other members of the team were seniors Allea Holbrook, Emi-Lee

Page 1 of 2

UNOFFICIAL COPY

Howe, Claire Russell, and Abigail Wolff; juniors Morgan Frey, Addison Kincaid, and
 Caroline Osting; sophomores Kat Cummins and Gabby DeCamillis; freshmen Becca
 Carson, Amirah Jordan, and Ashleah Smith; and manager Audrey Potempa; and

WHEREAS, the Valkyries were coached by Donna Moir, who earned a record
seventh state championship, and assistants Presley Brown, Matthew E. Carson, David
Green, Frederick Moir, Jr., Crystal L. Riley II, and Amy Siegel; and

WHEREAS, although the Valkyries lose three senior starters off their 2024 squad,
the four-time defending state champions have high hopes that the team can continue their
unprecedented streak of consecutive state championship in 2025; and

WHEREAS, the incredible run of four consecutive state championships by the Sacred Heart Valkyries has cemented their place in the storied annals of Kentucky high school basketball history, and this amazing team is doubtless worthy of public recognition;

14 NOW, THEREFORE,

15 Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 16 Kentucky:

Section 1. The members of the Senate join Senator Julie Raque Adams in
congratulating the Sacred Heart Valkyries and Coach Donna Moir on their winning the
2024 KHSAA Girls' Sweet Sixteen Championship, saluting their tradition of basketball
excellence and their unprecedented fourth consecutive state championship, and wishing
the team and coaches good fortune in all future endeavors.

22 → Section 2. The Clerk of the Senate shall transmit a copy of this Resolution to
23 the Senator Julie Raque Adams for presentation to the team.

XXXX 3/25/2024 5:13 PM

Page 2 of 2