**UNOFFICIAL COPY** 24 RS BR 1488

1	A RESOLUTION adjourning the Senate in honor and loving memory of Warrant
2	Officer 1 Jeffery Barnes, Sergeant Emilie Marie Eve Bolanos, Chief Warrant Officer 3
3	Zachary Esparza, Sergeant Isaac John Gayo, Staff Sergeant Joshua Caleb Gore, Warrant
4	Officer 2 Aaron Healy, Staff Sergeant Taylor Mitchell, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Rusten
5	Smith, and Sergeant David Solinas Jr.
6	WHEREAS, on March 29, 2023, nine United States Army soldiers from Fort
7	Campbell, Kentucky were involved in a fatal, midair collision while conducting a Black
8	Hawk helicopter training exercise; and
9	WHEREAS, the nine brave soldiers who perished were Warrant Officer 1 Jeffery
10	Barnes, 33, from Milton, Florida; Sergeant Emilie Marie Eve Bolanos, 23, born in the
11	Philippines and enlisted out of Austin, Texas; Chief Warrant Officer 3 Zachary Esparza,
12	36, from Jackson, Missouri; Sergeant Isaac John Gayo, 27, born in the Philippines and
13	enlisted out of Los Angeles, California; Staff Sergeant Joshua Caleb Gore, 25, from
14	Morehead City, North Carolina; Warrant Officer 2 Aaron Healy, 32, from Cape Coral,
15	Florida; Staff Sergeant Taylor Mitchell, 30, from Mountain Brook, Alabama; Chief
16	Warrant Officer 2 Rusten Smith, 32, from Rolla, Missouri; and Sergeant David Solinas
17	Jr., 23, from Oradell, New Jersey; and
18	WHEREAS, these nine United States Army soldiers were true American patriots
19	who loved and proudly served their country; and
20	WHEREAS, 101st Commanding General Officer Major General J.P. McGee
21	remembered these fallen soldiers as "irreplaceable national treasures"; and
22	WHEREAS, Sergeant Bolanos, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Zachary Esparza, and
23	Chief Warren Officer 2 Aaron Healy were posthumously promoted; and
24	WHEREAS, these nine heroes will be mourned across the length and breadth of the
25	Commonwealth and they have left a void that cannot be filled in the hearts and minds of
26	their family and friends; and
27	WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper that these brave soldiers receive recognition for

Page 1 of 2 XXXX 1/9/2024 4:22 PM Jacketed UNOFFICIAL COPY 24 RS BR 1488

- 1 paying the ultimate sacrifice while serving their country;
- 2 NOW, THEREFORE,
- 3 Be it resolved by the Senate of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of
- 4 Kentucky:
- 5 → Section 1. The Senate does hereby express its profound condolences and
- 6 sympathy upon the passing of Warrant Officer 1 Jeffery Barnes, Sergeant Emilie Marie
- 7 Eve Bolanos, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Zachary Esparza, Sergeant Isaac John Gayo, Staff
- 8 Sergeant Joshua Caleb Gore, Warrant Officer 2 Aaron Healy, Staff Sergeant Taylor
- 9 Mitchell, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Rusten Smith, and Sergeant David Solinas Jr. to their
- 10 family, friends, and community in this time of loss.
- → Section 2. When the Senate adjourns this day, it does so in honor and loving
- memory of the bravery and service of Warrant Officer 1 Jeffery Barnes, Sergeant Emilie
- 13 Marie Eve Bolanos, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Zachary Esparza, Sergeant Isaac John Gayo,
- 14 Staff Sergeant Joshua Caleb Gore, Warrant Officer 2 Aaron Healy, Staff Sergeant Taylor
- 15 Mitchell, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Rusten Smith, and Sergeant David Solinas Jr.
- → Section 3. The Clerk of the Senate is directed to transmit a copy of this
- 17 Resolution to Senator Jason Howell for delivery to the families.