
CORRECTIONS IMPACT STATEMENT          

SESSION: 18RS BILL #: HB  417 Introduced              BR #: 1968  DOC ID#: XXXXX 

 

BILL SPONSOR(S): Rep. C. Morgan AMENDMENT SPONSOR(S):               

SUBJECT: AN ACT relating to the creation of an animal abuse registry and making an appropriation therefor. 
    

SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION: Creates a new section of KRS Chapter 17 to establish the animal abuse offender registry; requires the 
Kentucky State Police to maintain a registry of offenders who commit an animal abuse offense; creates a new section of KRS Chapter 17 to 
establish the animal abuse offender registry fund; APPROPRIATION.    
  

This  bill  amendment   committee substitute is expected to: 

 Have the following Corrections impact   Have no Corrections impact 

 Creates new crime(s)  Repeals existing crime(s) 
 Increases penalty for existing crime(s)  Decreases penalty for existing crime(s) 
 Increases incarceration   Decreases incarceration 
 Reduces inmate/offender services  Increases inmate/offender services 
 Increases staff time or positions   Reduces staff time or positions 
 Changes elements of offense for existing crime(s)   
 Otherwise impacts incarceration (Explain)    

STATE IMPACT: Class A, B & C felonies are based on an average daily prison rate of $70.12. Most Class D felons are housed in 
one of 76 full service jails for up to 5 years. DOC’s cost to incarcerate a felony inmate in a jail is $31.45 per day (includes jail per 
diem, medical & central office costs), not including substance abuse treatment. Projections are based on the daily rate x 365 x 
number of years. 

Projected Impact:   NONE  MODERATE (< $1 million)  SIGNIFICANT (> $1 million)  

This legislation establishes an animal abuse registry to be maintained by the Kentucky State Police. Animal abuse offense is 

established as convictions under KRS 525.125 Cruelty To Animals 1st Degree, 525.130 Cruelty To Animals‐2nd Degree, 525.135 

Torture Of A Dog Or Cat, 1st Offense, 2nd Or > Offense, Or Torture Dog/Cat W/Serial Physical Injury Or Death, 525.200 Assault 

On Service Animal, 1st Degree, or 525.205 Assault On Service Animal, 2nd Degree. 

Offenders will be required to register for five (5) years. Offenders shall be registered by the releasing agency or at the time of 

conviction by a Court. A registration fee of $100 annually is imposed, but subject to waiver for indigency.  

The registry shall include a public website, as well as offender information provided to each county sheriff and local school district 

superintendent. There is a good faith exemption for Department employees for registration and dissemination of registry information. 

The bill also establishes an animal abuse offender registry. 

Data from AOC for FY2015-2017 shows twenty (20) convictions for Torture of Dog or Cat, forty-five (45) convictions for Cruelty to 

Animals, and sixteen (16) convictions of Assault on a Service Animal (includes inchoate offenses). 

Currently the Department has ten (10) offenders and thirty-four (34) offenders on supervision for these offenses. 

Though the Department of Corrections will register required individuals for the animal abuse offender registry who are released 

from custody or placed on supervision by the court, however, there is no direct impact to incarceration under this legislation.  

                                          

                                                 

LOCAL IMPACT: Local governments are responsible for the cost of incarcerating individuals charged with Class A or B 
misdemeanors and felony defendants until disposition of the case. While the expense varies by jail, this estimated impact will be 
based on $31.34 per day, which equals the per diem and medical that DOC pays jails to house felony offenders.  

Projected Impact:   NONE  MODERATE (< $1 million)  SIGNIFICANT (> $1 million) 

Local detention facilities would also be required to register individuals upon release who are statutorily required to register with the 
animal abuse offender registry.  

The legislation establishes a Class A misdemeanor for failure to register or providing false, misleading, or incomplete information. 



The number of offenders convicted under these offenses would likely be low; therefore, the expected impact to the county jails 
would not be significant.     

A Class A misdemeanor is 90 days to 1 year in jail 10 Class A misdemeanants: $28,206 to $114,391 

1 Class A misdemeanant: $2,821 to $11,439 100 Class A misdemeanants: $282,060 to $1,143,910  

The following offices contributed to this Corrections Impact Statement: 
 Dept. of Corrections  Dept. of Kentucky State Police  Administrative Office of the Courts  Parole Board  Other       

NOTE: Consideration should be given to the cumulative impact of all bills that increase the felon population or that 
impose new obligations on state or local governments. The Department of Corrections and local jails continue to 
operate over capacity. Without steps to reduce the population, any legislation that increases population or lengthens 
the term of incarceration will have a significant impact on correctional operations. 

APPROVED BY:     3/1/2018 
 Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Corrections Date 


