
CORRECTIONS IMPACT STATEMENT 

SESSION: 21RS     BILL # SB 26    Prefiled .   BR # 120    DOC ID #: xxxx 

BILL SPONSOR(S): Sen. P. Wheeler    AMENDMENT SPONSOR(S): . . 

TITLE: AN ACT relating to sex offender registrants. 

SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION: Amend KRS 17.545 to prohibit sex offender registrants from being on the grounds of a 

senior citizen center. 

AMENDMENT: . 

This ☒ bill ☐ amendment ☐ committee substitute is expected to: 

☒ Have the following Corrections impact  ☐ Have no Corrections impact 
 

☐Creates new crime(s) ☐Repeals existing crime(s) 

☐Increases penalty for existing crime(s) ☐Decreases penalty for existing crime(s) 

☐Increases incarceration ☐Decreases incarceration 

☒Reduces inmate/offender services  ☐Increases inmate/offender services 

☐Increases staff time or positions  ☐Reduces staff time or positions 

☒Changes elements of offense for existing crime(s) 

☐Otherwise impacts incarceration (Explain) . 

STATE IMPACT: Class A, B, & C felonies are based on an average daily prison rate of $80.24. Community Custody Class C 

and most Class D felons are housed in one of seventy-seven (77) full service or regional jails for up to five (5) years. Department 

of Corrections’ cost to incarcerate a felony inmate in a jail is $37.35 per day, which includes $31.34 per diem, medical costs, & 

central office administrative costs (substance abuse treatment not included).*  

Projected Impact:  ☒ NONE   ☐ MINIMAL to MODERATE (< $1 million)   ☐ SIGNIFICANT (> $1 million) 
 

. 
 

. 

.  . 

.  . 

LOCAL IMPACT: Local governments are responsible for the cost of incarcerating individuals charged with Class A or B 

misdemeanors and felony defendants until disposition of the case. The estimated impact will be based on the $37.35 cost to 

incarcerate while $31.34 is the per diem and medical that DOC pays jails to house felony offenders. Since the cost to incarcerate 

is an estimated average cost of housing an inmate, this may not be the actual housing cost for the jail.*  

Projected Impact:  ☐ NONE   ☒ MINIMAL to MODERATE (< $1 million)   ☐ SIGNIFICANT (> $1 million) 
 

This legislation amends KRS 17.545 to prohibit sex offender registrants from being on the grounds of a senior citizen 
center. The senior citizen center director can provide advance written permission after receiving disclosure of the person’s 
status as a sex offender registrant. The legislation does not include a definition for a senior citizen center. A senior citizen 
center is assumed to not be a residential facility.  
 
Under KRS 17.990, a violation of KRS 17.545(2) is a Class A misdemeanor. 
 
Corrections data shows one (1) individual is currently serving on Registered Sex Offender Residence Restrictions under 
KRS 17.545, for a second offense or greater. There are two (2) offenders on supervision for Register Sex Offender 
School Restrictions. AOC records reflect sixteen (16) convictions for FY20 for District & Circuit Court for registry 
restrictions under KRS 17.545, all at the misdemeanor level.  
 
If a sex offender registrant failed to comply with this added requirement, possible penalties could include incarceration, 
violation proceedings, and workload for Probation and Parole Officers who monitor sex offender caseloads. The Kentucky 
State Police monitors compliance with the Sex Offender Registry and violations of the sex offender registry restrictions. 
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Of concern for the Kentucky Department of Corrections is the limited availability of placement for sex offenders who need 
care. While the legislation provides for approval by the center, the legislation may deter senior citizen centers from 
providing approvals for elderly sex offenders who may be in need of services.  
 
Misdemeanors are subject to the jurisdiction and cost of the county, at an average cost to incarcerate of $37.35 per day. 

Although it is not possible to determine how many convictions this legislation would generate, overall, given the targeted 
focus of the legislation, the number of offenders who may incur this offense would be expected to be minimal. 
 
Cost to Incarcerate 
A Class A misdemeanor is 90 days to 1 year in jail. 10 Class A misdemeanants: $33,619.42 to $136,345.44  
1 Class A misdemeanant: $3,361.94 to  $13,634.54 100 Class A misdemeanants: $336,194.25 to $1,363,454.45 

Projected Corrections Impact from Amendments: 

.  
 

 

 

*All projections are based on the daily rate x 365 days x number of years. The cost to incarcerate as calculated by the Department is shown 

here as rounded to the hundredths. Offenders may have multiple offenses or be incarcerated on other charges unless otherwise noted. Unless 

otherwise noted, numbers will include inchoate offenses at the underlying offense level. 
 

The following offices contributed to this Corrections Impact Statement: 

☒ Dept. of Corrections ☐ Dept. of Kentucky State Police ☒ Administrative Office of the Courts ☐ Parole Board ☐ Other   
 

NOTE: Consideration should be given to the cumulative impact of all bills that increase the felon population, lengthens the term or incarceration, 
or impose new obligations on state or local governments.  

APPROVED BY:    1/12/2021 
 Chief of Staff, Kentucky Department of Corrections Date 


