BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS Board of Veterinary Examiners (New Administrative Regulation)

201 KAR 16:513. Fees for Allied Animal Health Professional (AAHP) Permits.

RELATES TO: KRS 321.175, 321.181(1)-(4), 321.235

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 321.175(2)(c), (5), 321.181(1)-(4), 321.235(1)(a)-(c), (2)(b)2

NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 321.235(1)(a)-(c) and (2)(b)2. require the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners to promulgate administrative regulations as it may deem necessary and proper to effectively carry out and enforce the provisions of KRS Chapter 321, including regulations to establish authorized fees. This administrative regulation establishes fees for allied animal health professional (AAHP) permits.

Section 1. Payment and Submission of Fees.

(1) Fees to the board shall be paid by check or money order, or, if available, online payment by debit or credit card. Checks and money orders shall be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

(2) All fees shall be nonrefundable.

(3) In the event the board carry forward balance at the end of a fiscal year falls below \$200,000, the board's fees shall automatically increase 20% for the duration of the fiscal biennium.

Section 2. Application Fees for Allied Animal Health Professional Permits

(1) The application fee for an AAHP permit shall be \$250.

(2) The fee shall be attached to the completed Application for Allied Animal Health Professional Permit form as found in 201 KAR 16:732 or online equivalent form, including all required attachments.

Section 3. Examination Fees for Allied Animal Health Professionals. The fee for the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners State Jurisprudence Examination for AAHP applicants shall be \$100 paid directly to the board.

Section 4. Renewal Fees for Allied Animal Health Professional Permits. The following fees shall be paid to renew an AAHP permit.

(1) Except as established in paragraph 2(c) of this section, the annual renewal fee for an AAHP permit in active status shall:

(a) Until June 30, 2026, be \$150;

(b) Between July 1, 2026 and June 30, 2028, be \$175; and

(c) After June 30, 2028, be \$200.

(2) Ontime renewal.

(a) The fee shall be attached to the complete Renewal for AAHP Permits form as found in 201 KAR 16:735 or online equivalent form, including all required attachments, continuing education credits, and other documents required by the board; and

(b) The complete package shall submitted to the board for review and approval not later than September 30 of each year.

(c) For an AHHP permittee who is initially permitted 120 days prior to the end of the renewal period, the permit renewal fee and any continuing education (CE) shall be waived during the first permit cycle.

(a) A renewal grace period shall be provided for sixty (60) days following the renewal deadline. During the grace period, an AAHP permittee who failed to meet the September 30 renewal deadline may continue to function as though permitted by the board until a late renewal application is submitted to the board.

(b) The late fee for renewal shall be 300 in addition to the renewal fee as described in Section 4(1) of this administrative regulation.

(c) The fee shall be attached to the complete Renewal Application for AAHP Permits form as found in 201 KAR 16:735 or online equivalent form, including all required attachments, an accounting of earned continuing education hours, and other documents required by the board, to the board between October 1 and November 30. If audited by the board, the AAHP permittee shall provide proof of CE credits earned in accordance with 201 KAR 16:735.

(4) An AAHP's permit shall expire if no renewal application package and all attachments, and late fee if applicable, is paid to the board by November 30 of each year.

Section 5. Reinstatement Fees for Allied Animal Health Professional Permits.

(1) The reinstatement period is limited to five (5) years past date of permit expiration.

(a) Except as provided by Section 6(3)(b)3. of this administrative regulation, if not more than five (5) years have elapsed since the last date of permit expiration, an AAHP may pay a reinstatement fee of \$675 and submit a complete Reinstatement Application for AAHP Permits form as found in 201 KAR 16:775 16:732 or online equivalent form, including all required attachments, to the board for reinstatement of the permit.

(b) An AAHP permittee shall not apply for a new permit during this five (5) year window; a reinstatement application shall be required.

(2) If more than five (5) years have elapsed since the last date of permit expiration, an AAHP shall apply as a new applicant to obtain a new permit from the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners.

Section 6. Inactive Status of Permits.

(1)

(a) An AAHP permittee shall request inactive licensure status in accordance with 201 KAR 16:580.

(b) If more than ninety (90) days prior to the renewal deadline or more than 150 days prior to the grace period deadline, the Request for Credential Status Change form incorporated in 201 KAR 16:580, or online equivalent form shall be required, and there shall not be a fee.

(c) If less than ninety (90) days prior to the renewal deadline or less than 150 days prior to the grace period deadline, the Renewal Application for AAHP Permits incorporate in 201 KAR 16:735, or online equivalent form shall be required, and the required fee shall paid as established in subsection (2) of this section.

(2) Renewal of an inactive AAHP permit.

(a) The annual renewal fee for inactive AAHP permits status shall be \$50 per renewal.

(b) The late fee for annual renewal of an inactive AAHP permit shall be \$150 in addition to the renewal fee as described in paragraph (a) of this subsection, and shall apply to a AAHP permit in an inactive status that was not renewed by September 30 of the renewal period.

(c) An AAHP permit in an inactive status that is not renewed by November 30 shall be moved to an expired status.

(3) Reinstatement of inactive AAHP permit status to active status.

(a) A AAHP permittee in inactive status may reinstate their permit to active status in accordance with 201 KAR 16:580.

(b) There shall be a reinstatement fee due at the time of application, as provided for in subparagraphs 1.-2. of this paragraph.

1. For an inactive AAHP permit that has been in inactive status less than twenty-four (24) months, the licensure reinstatement fee shall be \$600.

2. For an inactive AAHP permit that has been in inactive status greater than twenty-four (24) months to seven (7) years, the permit reinstatement fee shall be \$400:

3. After seven (7) years, the permit shall expire and the permit holder shall be required to apply for a new AAHP permit.

MICHELLE M. SHANE, Executive Director on behalf of JOHN C. PARK, DVM, Board Chair

APPROVED BY AGENCY: October 14, 2024

FILED WITH LRC: October 15, 2024 at 8:15 a.m.

PUBLIC HEARING AND COMMENT PERIOD: A public hearing on this administrative regulation shall be held on December 23, 2024, at 10:00 am EST, at the offices of the Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners, 4047 Iron Works Pkwy, Suite 104, Lexington, Kentucky 40511. Individuals interested in being heard at this hearing shall notify this agency in writing by five workdays prior to the hearing, of their intent to attend. If no notification of intent to attend the hearing was received by that date, the hearing may be cancelled. A transcript of the public hearing will not be made unless a written request for a transcript is made. If you do not wish to be heard at the public hearing, you may submit written comments on the proposed administrative regulation. Written comments shall be accepted through December 31, 2024. Send written notification of intent to the contact person.

CONTACT PERSON: Michelle M. Shane, Executive Director, Kentucky Board of Veterinary Examiners, 4047 Iron Works Parkway, Suite 104, Lexington, Kentucky 40511, Phone: 502-564-5433, Fax: 502-753-1458, Email: Michelle.Shane@ky.gov.