House Bill 267

Last Action posted in committee
Title AN ACT relating to certificates for driving.
Bill Documents Bill
Bill Request Number 1207
Sponsor L. Clark
Summary of Original Version Create new sections of KRS 186.400 to 186.640 to define the term "certificate for driving" as a certificate issued by the Transportation Cabinet to an individual 18 years or older who has resided in the Commonwealth for a minimum of three years and who cannot prove citizenship or meet the requirements of KRS 186.412(2) to (4); mandate that certificates for driving be clearly distinguishable from regular operator's licenses and clearly state on the face that the document is not to be used for identification purposes; require the cabinet to establish a unique identifying number system for certificates and keep a database of all certificate holders and their driving histories available for the use of law enforcement agencies; provide that the certificate for driving shall have a color photograph of the applicant on it; provide that the certificate for driving shall be valid for one year; provide that the certificate for driving shall clearly state on its face that it is valid in Kentucky only; provide that the certificate for driving database shall not be used for the investigation or enforcement of immigration laws; require the cabinet to promulgate administrative regulations to provide standards for the application, issuance, denial, and revocation of certificates; set out application procedures for certificates for driving; require application to be made in Frankfort or at a regional office of the cabinet; require the Department of Kentucky State Police to examine all applicants for a certificate; impose instruction permit restrictions on individuals applying for a certificate who do not have a valid license from another state or recognized foreign jurisdiction; set out denial criteria and revocation criteria; provide that the Transportation Cabinet shall not issue a certificate for driving to a person whose driving was suspended for any reason other than a conviction for failure to have insurance or a conviction for driving without an operator's license; require the cabinet to establish a points and suspension system for moving violations similar to the one used for operator's licenses; make certificates valid for one year, with renewal; require possession of the certificate at all times when operating a motor vehicle; require certificate holders to notify the circuit clerk of name and address changes; set the fee for a certificate at the same fee as for an operator's license; establish an initial application fee of $100; prohibit certificate holders from possessing an operator's license; prohibit certificate holders from operating a commercial motor vehicle; subject certificate holders to existing penalties for DUI and driving on a suspended license.
Index Headings of Original Version Motor Vehicles - Certificate for driving, establishment of
Police, City and County - Certificate for driving, establishment of
Police, State - Certificate for driving, establishment of
Transportation - Certificate for driving, establishment of
Circuit Clerks - Certificate for driving, establishment of
Administrative Regulations and Proceedings - Transportation Cabinet, certificate for driving


  • introduced in House
  • to Transportation (H)
  • posted in committee

Last updated: 1/16/2019 3:10 PM (EST)