|to Judiciary (H)
|AN ACT relating to crimes and punishments and making an appropriation therefor.
|Bill Request Number
|Summary of Original Version
|Create new sections of KRS 17.500 to 17.580 to require sex offender registrants to pay an annual $75 registration fee; allow the Department of Kentucky State Police to waive the fee if the registrant was found at the time of conviction to be indigent; provide that failure to pay the fee does not prevent the registrant from registering and updating their registry information; make any registrant whose fee was not waived and who knowingly fails to pay the fee guilty of a violation with a fine up to $250 for the first offense and a Class B misdemeanor for each subsequent offense; establish the sex offender registry fund; amend KRS 17.500 to revise the definition of "criminal offense against a victim who is a minor," "registrant information," and "residence"; amend KRS 17.510 to require registrants to provide palm prints; require persons convicted or required to register in other jurisdictions to register within three working days of relocation; require registrants to inform the appropriate local probation and parole office of travel outside the country; require registrants who move to a new county to register with the appropriate local probation and parole office within three working days; require any changes to a registrant's electronic mail address or any other Internet communication name identity to register the change or new identity within three working days; amend 17.520 to make a technical correction; amend KRS 17.545 to prohibit a sex offender registrant that is 18 years of age or older from having the same residence as a minor; provide an exception if the registrant is the spouse, parent, grandparent, stepparent, sibling, stepsibling, or guardian unless the registrant's parental rights have or are being terminated, the registrant was convicted of any sex crime or criminal offense against the victim who is a minor in which the child of the registrant was the victim, or the registrant has been convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor; make any registrant who violates the prohibition of living with a minor guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for the first offense and a Class D felony for the second and each subsequent offense; amend KRS 17.546 to revise the definition of "social networking Web site"; amend KRS 17.580 to require the Department of Kentucky State Police to display a registrant's palm prints on their Web site; Sections 1 and 2 EFFECTIVE January 1, 2018.
|Index Headings of Original Version
Courts - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Courts, Circuit - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Courts, District - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Crime Victims - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Crimes and Punishments - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Criminal Procedure - Sex offender registrants, fee for and restrictions on
Appropriations - Sex offender registrants, registration fee for
Last updated: 1/16/2019 3:02 PM (EST)